Skip to main content


Be Not Afraid

Cecilia Galante

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Marin spends a lot of time avoiding things. She avoids thinking about her mother’s suicide and what she could have done to prevent it. She avoids looking at people directly—because she can see their pain as bright, colorful shapes. And she avoids Cassie Jackson, who used her in a sinister ritual months ago, although Marin’s not exactly sure why.
 
When Cassie stands up at school, screaming, raking her nails down her cheeks, and pointing a finger at Marin, whispering “YOU,” Marin’s days of avoidance come to an abrupt end. Cassie’s older brother believes that Marin holds the secret to Cassie’s illness. So they team up to solve the mystery of what Cassie has unleashed. But as they look deeper into the darkness, can Marin trust what she sees?
 
Cecilia Galante, author of The Patron Saint of Butterflies, presents a chilling story with horror-movie thrills and nail-biting suspense. Perfect for fans of American Horror Story, Paranormal Activity, and The Exorcist, and readers who love to feel goose bumps.

Praise for Be Not Afraid:

"Galante crafts a chilling atmosphere in this slowly simmering horror story."--Publishers Weekly

"Recommended for fans of the author and Katherine Howe's Conversion and Danielle Vega's The Merciless." --SLJ

"Well-executed and decorated with some top-notch horror elements; readers who don't love this sort of suspense will find refuge in the romantic [subplot]. . . . A quick, freaky read." --Kirkus Reviews

Random House Books for Young Readers, 9780385372749, 352pp.

Publication Date: April 28, 2015



About the Author

CECILIA GALANTE is the author of several young adult and middle grade books, including The Patron Saint of Butterflies, an Oprah's Book Club Teen Reading Selection, a Book Sense Pick, and a Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year. She teaches eighth-grade English and is a creative writing professor. She lives with her husband and children in Pennsylvania. Visit her online at ceciliagalanteauthor.com.