Skip to main content


Grief Works (Digital Audiobook)

Stories of Life, Death and Surviving

By Julia Samuel, Julia Samuel (Narrator)

Publication Date: December 25, 2017

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook, Spanish, Castilian (3/15/2018)
Digital Audiobook (1/15/2018)
Paperback (1/22/2019)
Hardcover (1/16/2018)
Paperback, Spanish (6/26/2018)
Library Binding, Large Print (1/17/2018)
Compact Disc (1/16/2018)

Description

A warm, moving and practical guide to grief from a leading bereavement counsellor, Grief Works features deeply affecting case studies of the author's clients, which will appeal to readers of Atul Gawande's Being Mortal, Stephen Grosz's The Unexamined Life and Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air.

Death is the last taboo in our society, and grief is still profoundly misunderstood. So many of us feel awkward and uncertain around death, and shy away from talking honestly with family and friends. Grief Works is a compassionate guide that will inform and engage anyone who is grieving, from the "expected" death of a parent to the sudden unexpected death of a small child, and provide clear advice for those seeking to comfort the bereaved.
    
With deeply moving case studies of real people's stories of loss, and brilliantly accessible and practical advice, Grief Works will be passed down through generations as the definitive guide for anyone who has lost a loved one, and
revolutionize the way we talk about life, loss and death.


About the Author

JULIA SAMUEL is a grief psychotherapist who has spent the last twenty-five years working with bereaved families, both in private practice and at a major London hospital, where she pioneered the role of maternity and paediatric counsellor. She is Founder Patron of Child Bereavement UK, where she continues to play a central role. Grief Works is her firstbook. Find out more at www.griefworks.co.uk.