The O. Henry Prize Stories 2002 (Paperback)

By Dave Eggers, Larry Dark (Editor), Dave Eggers (Selected by)

Anchor Books, 9780385721622, 496pp.

Publication Date: August 27, 2002



Established early in the last century as a memorial to the great American short story master O. Henry, throughout its history this annual collection has consistently offered a remarkable sampling of contemporary short stories. Each year, stories are chosen from large and small literary magazines, and a panel of distinguished writers is enlisted to make the final selection. The result is a superb collection of inventive, full-bodied stories representing the very best in American and Canadian fiction.

About the Author

Larry Dark lives in Montclair, New Jersey. Dave Eggers is the editor of "McSweeney's" and author of "A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius." He lives in northern California. Joyce Carol Oates is the author of several books, including novels, short story collections, drama, and nonfiction. She lives in Princeton, New Jersey. Colson Whitehead's most recent novel is "John Henry Days." He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Praise For The O. Henry Prize Stories 2002

“Widely regarded as the nation’s most prestigious awards for short fiction.”–The Atlantic Monthly

“Proves that the American short story remains a vigorous and relevant genre in the hands of talented writers.”–The Atlanta Journal—Constitution

“There are things here to please everyone’s appetite.”–The Austin Chronicle