The Lives of the Great Composers (Hardcover)

By Harold C. Schonberg

W. W. Norton & Company, 9780393038576, 656pp.

Publication Date: April 17, 1997

List Price: 39.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Schonberg has extended the volume's coverage to provide informative and clearly written descriptions of the later serialists such as Stockhausen and Carter, the iconoclastic John Cage, the individualistic Messiaen, minimalist composers, the new tonalists, and women composers of all eras, including Mendelssohn Hensel, Chaminade, Smyth, Beach, and Zwilich. Scattered throughout are many changes and additions reflecting musicological findings of the past fifteen years.