Adrienne Rich (Hardcover)

Later Poems: Selected and New: 1971-2012

By Adrienne Rich

W. W. Norton & Company, 9780393089561, 530pp.

Publication Date: November 5, 2012

List Price: 39.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


In Later Poems: Selected and New 1971 2012, the strong trajectory of the work of one of the most important artists of American letters is on display. This volume brings together a remarkable body of work. Included are Adrienne Rich's own selections from twelve volumes of published works, including the National Book Award winning Diving Into the Wreck, An Atlas of the Difficult World, and her most recent volume, Tonight No Poetry Will Serve, along with ten powerful new poems, previously uncollected. Among these, From Strata is a kind of archaeology of the present day; Itinerary searches for an indefinite future in a menaced landscape; For the Young Anarchists offers a trope of skilled labor for political action; and the haunting voice of Teethsucking Bird reminds us of what we have been told to forget. This collection testifies to a monumental career that distinguished American literature in the late twentieth century and will continue to inspire readers for years to come.