Skip to main content
Cover for The Collected Short Stories

The Collected Short Stories

Jean Rhys


List Price: 27.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


"Reading such stories as a group . . . can be overwhelming. Yet it is precisely this intense immersion in experience that is the essence of Rhys' art. The force of her stories lies in the fusion of elegant prose with an uncanny penetration of the darker reaches of the soul."—Washington Post Book World

Jean Rhys was one of the twentieth century's foremost writers, a literary artist who made exqusite use of the raw material of her own often turbulent life to create fiction of memorable resonance and poignancy. Here for the first time in one volume are her complete stories.

W. W. Norton & Company, 9780393306255, 418pp.

Publication Date: June 17, 1992

About the Author

Jean Rhys (1890–1979), one of the foremost writers of the twentieth century, is the author of Wide Sargasso Sea—her last and best-known novel—as well as After Leaving Mr. Mackenzie, Voyage in the Dark, and Good Morning, Midnight, all available in Norton paperback.