Look! (Hardcover)

By Jeff Mack, Jeff Mack (Illustrator)

Philomel Books, 9780399162053, 32pp.

Publication Date: April 7, 2015

Advertisement

Description

This hilarious tale of a friendship forged by books is the perfect picture book for fans of IT'S A BOOK and OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA A great read-aloud for storytime.
Everyone needs a little attention from time to time. Just ask our gorilla who will stop at nothing to be noticed by the boy with his eyes glued to the TV set. But for the gorilla, it's going to take more than a quiet nudge to steal away the boy's attention. When his usual antics fail to catch the boy's eye LOOK OUT The gorilla has some other tricks up his sleeve.
Using only two words LOOK and OUT Jeff Mack relates an adorably hilarious story about an attention-loving gorilla, a television-loving boy, and a friendship that develops over books. Simple in construct yet richly creative, this interactive and colorful tale will leave children laughing and loving books for years to come.
Perfect for fans of"It's a Book"and"Officer Buckle and Gloria."
Praise for LOOK :
An Amazon Best Book of the Month
* "The slapstick action unfolds on linen-textured backgrounds, battered vintage book covers, and the actual pages of a book hat-tips to the physicality of books that hint at a happy ending for bibliophiles of all ages. Even if audiences miss these winks and nods to the tactile pleasures of reading, they ll still love that gorilla: hulking, eager-to-please and almost palpably furry, he ll be welcome in any room." "Publishers Weekly," STARRED REVIEW
"The personalities and emotions of the chunky, fluffy ape and the TV-entranced boy nearly vibrate off the page. Look, indeed An energetic invitation to the joys of books." "Kirkus Reviews"
"This is a fun read-aloud that will have children wanting to look and look again." "School Library Journal
""Mack's gentle, cartoonish illustrations are cleverly drawn on old book covers and endpapers, a subtle detail that emphasizes the joy of reading, and with a playful two-word vocabulary, even the littlest readers will be able to get in on the fun." "Booklist"
""Look " treads familiar metafictive ground in celebrating the pleasures of reading, but it manages to feel fresh nonetheless, with inventive use of controlled text, vibrant mixed-media art, and thoughtful design." "Horn Book"




About the Author

Originally from Syracuse, NY, Jeff Mack (www.JeffMack.com) grew up fascinated by monsters and robots. He built his own pinball machines from cardboard boxes, and created comic books about his four siblings being devoured by monsters. Now at home in Western Massachusetts, he continues to write, paint, and talk with school groups about his various projects. Jeff is the author/illustrator of such books as"Good News Bad News"and"Ah Ha!"Follow @jeffmackbooks"
Advertisement