The Saint of Wolves and Butchers (Hardcover)

By Alex Grecian

G.P. Putnam's Sons, 9780399176111, 400pp.

Publication Date: April 17, 2018

List Price: 27.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From the bestselling author of The Yard comes a chilling contemporary thriller about an enigmatic hunter on the trail of a Nazi who has secretly continued his devilish work here in America.

Travis Roan and his dog, Bear, are hunters: They travel the world pursuing evildoers in order to bring them to justice. They have now come to Kansas on the trail of Rudolph Bormann, a Nazi doctor and concentration camp administrator who snuck into the U.S. under the name Rudy Goodman in the 1950s and has at last been identified. Travis quickly learns that Goodman has powerful friends who will go to any length to protect the Nazi; what he doesn't know is that Goodman has furtively continued his diabolical work, amassing a congregation of followers who believe he possesses Godlike powers. Caught between these men is Kansas State Trooper Skottie Foster, an African American woman and a good cop who must find a way to keep peace in her district--until she realizes the struggle between Roan and Bormann will put her and her family in grave peril.


About the Author

Alex Grecian is the nationally bestselling author of The Yard, The Black Country, The Devil's Workshop, The Harvest Man, and Lost and Gone Forever, as well as the critically acclaimed graphic novels Proof and Rasputin. Grecian lives in Kansas with his wife and son.


Praise For The Saint of Wolves and Butchers

“With his artistry of painting a sense of place and time, Grecian delivers a compelling, twisty story driven by fascinating characters. The Saint of Wolves and Butchers makes breathless, gripping, up-all-night reading.” —Nora Roberts

“A breathtaking thriller with plenty of action and some very clever twists . . . the grimly satisfying conclusion makes it worth it for both characters and readers. Fans of David Baldacci and John Grisham will enjoy the unpredictability and unrelenting suspense.” Booklist (starred review)

“Grecian has crafted a fast-paced thriller that peels back years of horrific evil hidden beneath the Kansas soil.”Suspense Magazine 

“I loved every word of this book. It’s perfectly paced, nicely detailed, and terrifying and tender by turns in all of the right places. At a few points, it reminded me of a collaboration between Stephen King and Lee Child. See if you don’t agree.”—Bookreporter.com

“Extraordinarily thrilling and entertaining. . . After reading The Saint of Wolves and Butchers, you will anxiously wait for the next one.”The Washington Book Review

"Grecian spins an engrossing story." Shelf Awareness

"The atmosphere crackles with tension, and even when it seems nothing is concretely happening, the wheels are set in motion and a feeling of impending doom descends, then a flurry of startling plot twists careen towards a stunning conclusion." Fresh Fiction

The Saints of Wolves and Butchers has it all—a vicious old Nazi hiding out in rural America; a tracker hard on his trail; and a State Trooper and single mom with a lot to lose, willing to put it all on the line. Add a hot-engine plot, dialogue that would make Elmore Leonard smile, and some Fast and Furious action and you have the perfect storm of a story: a can't-put-it-down-until-I find-out-what-happens-next thriller.” —Lorenzo Carcaterra, New York Times bestselling author of Sleepers

“Alex Grecian is a consummate storyteller, and The Saint of Wolves and Butchers may be his finest work to date. Diabolical plotting, compelling characters, and razor-honed prose drive this thriller of old secrets and high stakes across eras and a beautifully rendered American landscape. Don't miss it.” —Michael Koryta, New York Times bestselling author of Rise the Dark 

"With Alex Grecian, you're in the hands of a professional. Deft prose, a steady drip of suspense, a blood-soaked secret from another time: The Saint of Wolves and Butchers has what you want in a Grecian thriller. My prescription? Purchase and consume immediately." —Gregg Hurwitz, New York Times bestselling author of Hellbent


Praise for the Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad novels

“Grecian juxtaposes his dark and light effects like a master painter, and he twists the suspense thumbscrew-tight.” —The Wall Street Journal

“Victorian London again comes to vivid, vicious life. The author neatly balances the professional and personal, making us see the horror, but emphasizing the effects on the brave people trying to stop such acts. Grade: A.” —Cleveland Plain Dealer

“Grecian brings his graphic and dramatic skills to bear in a harrowing psychological drama, narrated with a visual accuracy that is the stuff of nightmares. Prepare yourself for a compelling mix of psychological thriller and historical mystery.” —Booklist (starred review)

“A new master of historical mysteries. Grecian builds suspense like a master architect designing a skyscraper, leaving no detail out. One of our favorites of the year so far.” —Crimespree Magazine

“Grecian creates an unsettling world filled with shadows and darkness. . . . An exceptional job of presenting both characters and plot.” —Reviewing the Evidence