Made by Maxine (Hardcover)

By Ruth Spiro, Holly Hatam (Illustrator)

Dial Books, 9780399186295, 32pp.

Publication Date: October 9, 2018

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Meet Maxine, an inspiring young maker who knows that with enough effort and imagination (and mistakes), it's possible to invent anything.

Maxine loves making new things from old things. She loves tinkering until she has solved a problem. She also loves her pet goldfish, Milton. So when it's time for her school's pet parade, she's determined to create something that will allow Milton to march with the other animals. Finally, after trying, trying, and trying again, she discovers just the right combination of recycled odds and ends to create a fun, functional--and absolutely fabulous--solution to her predicament.


About the Author

Ruth Spiro is the author of the popular Baby Loves Science series. She lives with her family in Chicago.

Holly Hatam is an illustrator and graphic designer whose work includes the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Girl by Amy Krouse Rosenthal. She lives with her family in Toronto, Ontario.


Praise For Made by Maxine

"This a great choice for fans of Andrea Beaty’s Ada Twist, Scientist and Jenny Offill’s 11 Experiments That Failed.... A fun and uplifting picture book for all libraries that encourages children to engage with STEM concepts." – School Library Journal