A Fatal Chapter (A Booktown Mystery #9) (Hardcover)

By Lorna Barrett

Berkley, 9780425252666, 304pp.

Publication Date: June 2, 2015

List Price: 25.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

New York Times bestselling author Lorna Barrett presents another page-turning chapter in her Booktown Mystery series. This time mystery bookshop owner Tricia Miles is about to find out murder is no walk in the park…

While out walking Sarge, her sister’s bichon frise, Tricia is led by the agitated dog to a man lying in a gazebo. She’s startled when she recognizes Pete Renquist, the president of the Stoneham Historical Society, who appears to be suffering from cardiac arrest. When Pete later dies in the hospital, the discovery of a suspicious bruise and a puncture mark on his arm suggests he may have been murdered.

Haunted by Pete’s enigmatic last words to her, Tricia begins to consider who had a motive to kill her friend. Did Pete take his flirting too far, only to have a jealous husband teach him a lesson? Or did he discover something in the town’s historical records that his killer wanted kept secret? Tricia is determined to get to the bottom of things before someone else becomes history…

INCLUDES RECIPES


About the Author

LORNA BARRETT is the New York Times bestselling author of the Booktown Mysteries, including Book Clubbed and Not the Killing Type. She lives in Rochester, New York.


Praise For A Fatal Chapter (A Booktown Mystery #9)

Praise for the New York Times Bestselling Booktown Mysteries

“Diverting entertainment…an engaging story line, an intrepid heroine…good for lovers of intrigue.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Entertaining, highly enjoyable…Lorna Barrett never fails to offer a suspenseful cozy mystery.” —Cozy Mystery Book Review

“Fans of Carolyn Hart and Denise Swanson, rejoice!...This first-rate cozy artfully blends crime, cuisine, and even bookselling in a cheerful, witty, well-plotted puzzler.” —Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of Through the Evil Days

“A mystery bookstore in a sleepy New England town, a cat named Miss Marple, a nasty murder, and a determined heroine make Barrett’s delightful debut mystery everything a cozy lover could want and more. Bravo!” —Leann Sweeney, New York Times bestselling author of The Cat, the Vagabond, and the Victim