Taken (Mass Market Paperbound)

By Thomas H. Cook

Dell, 9780440241263, 368pp.

Publication Date: October 29, 2002



Three people know the truth.
Three families will be changed forever.
In the last days of World War II, a strange phenomenon saves a doomed Air Force pilot named Russell Keys--and plunges him into torment. In a place called Roswell, New Mexico, a man named Owen Crawford is drawn to a bizarre crash site in the desert, and into a government cover-up. And in a remote Texas town, a lonely woman named Sally Clarke finds a stranger hiding in her barn, and reaches out to touch him
This epic novel, based on the gripping ten-part "SCI FI Channel(r) miniseries" from "DreamWorks Television," spans sixty years of American history...as the lives of three people are changed in an instant--and the consequences are played out over three generations of harrowing encounters and unexplained events. While the government lies, and a nation doubts, three families know they have been touched, know that something has been taken from them...something that will change their lives forever.

About the Author

Thomas H. Cook is the author of fifteen novels, including The Chatham School Affair, winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel; Instruments of Night; Breakheart Hill; Mortal Memory; Sacrificial Ground and Blood Innocents," "both Edgar Award nominees; and two early works about true crimes, Early Graves" "and" "Blood Echoes, which was also nominated for an Edgar Award. He recently completed the novelization of the upcoming SCI FI Channel television event, "Taken." He lives in New York City and Cape Cod, where he is at work on his next novel, Peril.""