Skip to main content
Cover for Phantom Instinct

Phantom Instinct

Meg Gardiner

Mass Market

List Price: 8.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (6/25/2014)


From the Edgar® Award-winning author hailed by Stephen King as “the next suspense superstar” comes her new thriller with “a plot as real as your nightmares” (#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Lee Child)…

One year ago, a shootout in a trendy L.A. club left bartender Harper Flynn’s boyfriend dead, Sheriff Deputy Aiden Garrison shattered, and two gunmen engulfed in flames. But if the case is closed, why is Harper still afraid?

Certain that a third gunman escaped and is targeting survivors, Harper pins her last hope on the only person willing to listen. But a traumatic brain injury has left Aiden with a rare and terrifying disorder: a delusion that random people are actually the same person in disguise.

As Harper and Aiden delve deeper into the case, Harper fears that the attack might have been more personal than anyone believed. And now her only ally is unstable, paranoid, and mistrustful—because he’s seeing the same enemy everywhere he looks.

Praise For Phantom Instinct

Praise for Phantom Instinct
An O, The Oprah Magazine Best Book of the Summer

“A fantastic story, told at breakneck speed…One of this summer’s best reads.” —The Associated Press

“A roller-coaster ride of thrills.”—The Florida Times-Union

“Buckle up for an exciting thrill ride of a novel.”—

“Characters as real as your friends and a plot as real as your nightmares.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child

“Fast-paced, sharp, and unforgettable.”—New York Times bestselling author Don Winslow

“Should go to the top of your ‘to be read’ pile.”—New York Times bestselling author Karin Slaughter

“Plot twists and pacing that propels.”—The Austin Chronicle

“A suspense-building unpredictability that thriller fans will love.”—Booklist

“This one will keep readers up all night.”—Suspense Magazine

“Never less than breathtaking.”—Kirkus Reviews

Dutton, 9780451466099, 384pp.

Publication Date: June 2, 2015

About the Author

Meg Gardiner is the Edgar® Award-winning author of the Evan Delaney series: Kill Chain, Crosscut, Jericho Point, Mission Canyon, and China Lake. Her other novels include The Shadow Tracer, Ransom River, The Nightmare Thief, The Liar’s Lullaby, and The Memory Collector. Originally from Santa Barbara, California, she now lives in Austin, Texas.