The Best of Enemies (Hardcover)

By Jen Lancaster

Berkley, 9780451471093, 320pp.

Publication Date: August 4, 2015

List Price: 25.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Bridesmaids meets Big Little Lies in a novel told from the alternating perspectives of two women who define the term frenemies—from New York Times bestselling author Jen Lancaster.

Jacqueline Jordan knows conflict. A fearless journalist, she’s spent the past decade embedded in the world’s hot spots, writing about the fall of nations and the rise of despots. But if you were to inquire about who topped Jack’s enemy list, she’d not hesitate to answer: Kitty Carricoe.

Kitty reigns supreme over the world of carpools and minivans. A SAHM, she spends her days caring for her dentist husband and three towheaded children, running the PTA, and hiding vegetables in deceptively delicious packed lunches.

Kitty and Jack haven’t a single thing in common—except for Sarabeth Chandler, their mutual bestie. Sarabeth and Jack can be tomboys with the best of them, while Sarabeth can get her girly-girl on with Kitty. In fact, the three of them were college friends until the notorious incident when Jack accidentally hooked up with Kitty’s boyfriend…

Yet both women drop everything and rush to Sarabeth’s side when they get the call that her fabulously wealthy husband has perished in a suspicious plane crash. To solve the mystery surrounding his death, Jack and Kitty must bury the hatchet and hit the road for a trip that just may bring them together—if it doesn’t kill them first.


About the Author

Jen Lancaster is the New York Times bestselling author of eleven previous books (I Regret Nothing, Twisted Sisters, The Tao of Martha, Here I Go Again, Jeneration X, If You Were Here, My Fair Lazy, Pretty in Plaid, Such a Pretty Fat, Bright Lights, Big Ass, Bitter Is the New Black). She has appeared on Today, The Joy Behar Show, and NPR’s All Things Considered. She resides in the suburbs of Chicago with her husband and their ever-expanding menagerie of ill-behaved pets.


Praise For The Best of Enemies

PRAISE FOR TWISTED SISTERS:

“Jen Lancaster mixes sibling rivalry, reality television and body swapping…hilarious.”—HoustonPress.com

The Real World meets Freaky Friday.”—Rainy Day Ramblings

“Sure to appeal to fans of Helen Fielding, Emily Giffin, Sophie Kinsella, and Jennifer Weiner, Twisted Sisters is Jen Lancaster at her funniest and most, well, twisted.”—Starpulse.com

HERE I GO AGAIN:

“This is the only book in twenty years that made me wipe my eyes. Jen Lancaster’s like a modern-day, bawdy Erma Bombeck....I couldn’t put it down!”—Lisa Lampanelli, New York Post

“Entertaining, humorous, and well written, and the characters are perfection.”—Examiner.com

Mean Girls meets Back to the Future…scathingly witty and lots of fun.”—Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)


IF YOU WERE HERE:

“A perfect summer read.”—USA Today

“Witty and hilarious.”—People (3½ stars out of 4)

“Bitter may well be the new black, but If You Were Here is the new funny.”—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times Bestselling Author of Backseat Saints