By The Numbers (Hardcover)

By Jen Lancaster

Berkley, 9780451471116, 304pp.

Publication Date: June 21, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (6/20/2016)

List Price: 27.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The New York Times bestselling author of The Best of Enemies serves up a hilarious new novel of the “sandwich generation.”
 
Actuary Penny Sinclair has a head for business, and she always makes rational decisions. Knowing that 60% of spouses cheat and 50% of marriages end in divorce, she wasn’t too surprised when her husband had an affair. (That he did so with a woman their daughter’s age? Well, that part did sting a bit.) She just made sure she got everything in the divorce, including their lovely old Victorian house. And as soon as her younger daughter has her hipster-fabulous wedding in the backyard, she’s trading it in for a condo in downtown Chicago...
 
Well within the average market time in her area, Penny gets an offer on the house. But then life happens. Her children, her parents and her ex come flying back to the nest, all in need of Penny’s emotional—and financial—support. Spread thin, Penny becomes the poster child for the “sandwich generation,” when all she really wanted to do was make managing director, buy a white couch, and maybe go on a Match.com date...


About the Author

Jen Lancaster is the New York Times bestselling author of twelve previous books (The Best of Enemies; I Regret Nothing; Twisted Sisters; The Tao of Martha; Here I Go Again; Jeneration X; If You Were Here; My Fair Lazy; Pretty in Plaid; Such a Pretty Fat; Bright Lights, Big Ass; Bitter Is the New Black). She has appeared on Today, The Joy Behar Show, and NPR’s All Things Considered.


Praise For By The Numbers

PRAISE FOR TWISTED SISTERS

“Jen Lancaster mixes sibling rivalry, reality television and body swapping…hilarious.”—HoustonPress.com
 
The Real World meets Freaky Friday.”—Rainy Day Ramblings
 
“Sure to appeal to fans of Helen Fielding, Emily Giffin, Sophie Kinsella, and Jennifer Weiner, Twisted Sisters is Jen Lancaster at her funniest and most, well, twisted.”—Starpulse.com
 
HERE I GO AGAIN

“This is the only book in twenty years that made me wipe my eyes. Jen Lancaster’s like a modern-day, bawdy Erma Bombeck....I couldn’t put it down!”—Lisa Lampanelli, New York Post
 
“Entertaining, humorous, and well written, and the characters are perfection.”—Examiner.com
 
Mean Girls meets Back to the Future…scathingly witty and lots of fun.”—Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)
 
IF YOU WERE HERE
 
“A perfect summer read.”—USA Today
 
“Witty and hilarious.”—People (3½ stars out of 4)
 
“Bitter may well be the new black, but If You Were Here is the new funny.”—New York Times Bestselling Author Joshilyn Jackson