Me and Miranda Mullaly (Hardcover)

By Jake Gerhardt

Viking Books for Young Readers, 9780451475404, 256pp.

Publication Date: January 26, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (1/10/2017)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

They each have 33% chance with her, but she's 0% interested.

Meet Sam, the comedian; Duke, the intellectual; and Chollie, the athlete. Their fates converge at Penn Valley Middle as each falls desperately for the enigmatic Miranda Mullaly—the girl who smiles like she means it, the girl who makes Christmas truly magic when she sings, the girl who…barely realizes her admirers exist!

Small misunderstandings lead to big laughs, and alternating perspectives fuel this exciting, swiftly-paced story. And beneath the humor, every attempt to win Miranda's favor becomes a compelling look at the larger world of each guy's life. Me and Miranda Mullaly is perfect for fans of Flipped and The Swap.

Want more Sam, Duke, and Chollie? Check out My Future Ex-Girlfriend by Jake Gerhardt.


About the Author

Jake Gerhardt was born and raised in Cheltenham, Pennsylvania. He attended Elkins Park Middle School, where he played football and basketball, ran track, performed in the school musical, and was a member of the student council. He also found time to attend many school dances, in constant pursuit of various Miranda Mullalys.  

Since graduating from West Chester University, he has worked as a teacher. He currently lives in Los Angeles with his pulchritudinous wife and two amazing daughters. Me and Miranda Mullaly is his first book.



Praise For Me and Miranda Mullaly

PRAISE FOR ME AND MIRANDA MULLALY:

“Jake Gerhardt’s debut novel is sweet, knowing, and a super-fun read. Takes you right back to the awkwardness and earnestness of adolescence, with a lot of cringe and even more laughs.”
—Patton Oswalt, New York Times bestselling author, comedian, and actor

"Gerhardt’s light narrative touch is addictive . . . [Readers will] eat up this satisfying confection where all’s fair in love and war."
Booklist

"A lively tale of misunderstandings and misguided attempts to get the girl. This is an strong purchase for middle school libraries that will circulate well."
School Library Journal

"A comedy of errors meets coming-of-age story that will resonate with middle-grade readers who are wending their way through the tricky waters of school plays, basketball games, and first loves."
Bay State Parent

"As a middle school teacher who has seen many, many students come and go, I could completely see Miranda, Sam, Duke and Chollie! I've had students with all of their traits!"
—The O.W.L.

"Full of humor, sweetness, authenticity, engaging storytelling, and likable characters . . . delightful and entertaining."
—Word Spelunking