Handbook of Numerical Heat Transfer (Hardcover)

By W. J. Minkowycz (Editor), E. M. Sparrow (Editor), J. Y. Murthy (Editor)

Wiley, 9780471348788, 968pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 2006

List Price: 270.50*
* Individual store prices may vary.


A completely updated edition of the acclaimed single-volume reference for heat transfer and the thermal sciences

This Second Edition of Handbook of Numerical Heat Transfer covers the basic equations for numerical method calculations regarding heat transfer problems and applies these to problems encountered in aerospace, nuclear power, chemical processes, electronic packaging, and other related areas of mechanical engineering. As with the first edition, this complete revision presents comprehensive but accessible coverage of the necessary formulations, numerical schemes, and innovative solution techniques for solving problems of heat and mass transfer and related fluid flows.

Featuring contributions from some of the most prominent authorities in the field, articles are grouped by major sets of methods and functions, with the text describing new and improved, as well as standard, procedures. Handbook of Numerical Heat Transfer, Second Edition includes:
* Updated coverage of parabolic systems, hyperbolic systems, integral-and integro-differential systems, Monte Carlo and perturbation methods, and inverse problems
* Usable computer programs that allow quick applications to aerospace, chemical, nuclear, and electronic packaging industries
* User-friendly nomenclature listings include all the symbols used in each chapter so that chapter-specific symbols are readily available.

About the Author

W. J. MINKOWYCZ is Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He is Editor of Numerical Heat Transfer, International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer, International Communication in Heat and Mass Transfer, and the Series in Computational and Physical Processes in Mechanics and Thermal Sciences. Professor Minkowycz has won numerous awards for excellence in teaching including the 1988 ASEE Ralph Coats Roe Award, and in 1993, he was recipient of the ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award. E. M. SPARROW is in the Mechanical Engineering Department of the University of Minnesota, where he has taught and researched since 1959. Professor Sparrow is a Max Jakob awardee, a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and holds the ranks of Morse Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor and Institute Professor. J. Y. MURTHY is currently Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University and has worked in both academia and industry in the area of computational fluid dynamics and heat transfer. Her particular interests lie in the development of general purpose, unstructured solution-adaptive mesh methods for problems of industrial relevance, and more recently, in the numerical simulation of sub-micron thermal transport. Professor Murthy serves on the editorial advisory board of Numerical Heat Transfer, and is an active member of the ASME.