Mok Wei Wei (Hardcover)

Works by W Architects

By Mok Wei Wei, Justin Zhuang (Editor), Jiat-Hwee Chang, Leon van Schaik

Thames & Hudson, 9780500343456, 352pp.

Publication Date: June 23, 2020

List Price: 85.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

An in-depth monograph on Singapore’s most inventive, thoughtful, and respected architect.


During a career spanning over three decades, award-winning architect Mok Wei Wei has helped create the Singapore we see today. This overview of his large- and small-scale projects completed with his practice, W Architects, includes apartment complexes, museums, houses, and community centers, each revealing the architect’s inspirations and his ingenious solutions to the challenges of building in a tropical city.


Three themed chapters—"Refract," "Respond," and "Reflect"—move through Mok Wei Wei’s career, from the early 1980s to the present, illustrating his unique approach to designing buildings for a dense urban environment in the context of a diverse multicultural society facing the challenges of climate, heritage preservation, globalism, and national identity. A must-have for fans of Mok Wei Wei and W Architects, Mok Wei Wei is also essential reading for architects building in tropical cities worldwide.





About the Author

Mok Wei Wei is managing director of W Architects and a recipient of the President’s Design Award, Singapore’s highest honor for design. He has served on the Venice Art Biennale Advisory Panel at the Ministry of Information, Communications, and the Arts.

Justin Zhuang is a Singaporean writer and researcher with an interest in design, architecture, culture, and history.

Jiat-Hwee Chang is a Singaporean writer and researcher.

Leon van Schaik is an emeritus professor of architecture at RMIT, Melbourne, Australia.