Verve (Hardcover)

The Sound of America: Collector's Edition

By Richard Havers, Herbie Hancock (Foreword by)

Thames & Hudson, 9780500517475, 400pp.

Publication Date: September 9, 2014

List Price: 350.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Hot on the heels of one of the most talked-about jazz books in years comes the musically-enhanced, strictly limited Collector's Edition. Slipcased with vinyl reissues of ten legendary recordings on Verve, this is an exceptional opportunity to own a unique slice of jazz history.

  • All recordings remastered at Abbey Road Studios
  • Pressed onto 180g heavyweight vinyl for optimum sound quality
  • All album sleeves printed with stunning original artwork
  • Packaged in a dual-compartment cloth-bound display case
  • Strictly limited to 500 copies worldwide
  • Signed by the author

Includes the following vinyl pressings:

  1. Charlie Parker, Charlie Parker With Strings (1950)
  2. Count Basie and His Orchestra, April in Paris (1955)
  3. Billie Holiday, Lady Sings the Blues (1956)
  4. Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong, Ella And Louis (1956)
  5. Stan Getz, Big Band Bossa Nova (1962)
  6. Quincy Jones and His Orchestra, Big Band Bossa Nova (1962)
  7. Bill Evans, Conversations With Myself (1963)
  8. The Oscar Peterson Trio, Night Train (1963)
  9. Jimmy Smith, The Cat (1964)
  10. George Benson, Giblet Gravy (1968)