Skip to main content
Cover for Nostalgia for the Future

Nostalgia for the Future

Luigi Nono's Selected Writings and Interviews (California Studies in 20th-Century Music #21)

Luigi Nono, Angela Ida De Benedictis (Editor), Veniero Rizzardi (Editor), John O'Donnell (Translated by), Nuria Schoenberg Nono (Foreword by)


List Price: 39.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (10/23/2018)


Nostalgia for the Future is the first collection in English of the writings and interviews of Luigi Nono (1924–1990). One of the most prominent figures in the development of new music after World War II, he is renowned for both his compositions and his utopian views. His many essays and lectures reveal an artist at the center of the analytical, theoretical, critical, and political debates of the time.

This selection of Nono’s most significant essays, articles, and interviews covers his entire career (1948–1989), faithfully mirroring the interests, orientations, continuities, and fractures of a complex and unique personality. His writings illuminate his intensive involvements with theatre, painting, literature, politics, science, and even mysticism. Nono’s words make vividly evident his restless quest for the transformative possibilities of a radical musical experience, one that is at the same time profoundly engaged with its performers and spaces, its audiences, and its human and social motivations and ramifications.

Praise For Nostalgia for the Future: Luigi Nono's Selected Writings and Interviews (California Studies in 20th-Century Music #21)

"The appeal of what the English music historian Harriet Boyd-Bennett called Nono's 'sonic hubub' is elucidated in this long overdue collection of the composer's writings and interviews. A comparable French edition of this material appeared back in 1993, which indicates how belated, albeit still timely, its insights are for opera lovers undeterred by avant garde sounds." 
— Opera Now

University of California Press, 9780520291201, 461pp.

Publication Date: October 23, 2018

About the Author

Italian avant-garde composer Luigi Nono (1924–1990) was part of the group of high modernists whose work dominated the post-war European music scene. Experimenting with sound and technology, Nono's compositions and writings frequently addressed the role of the arts in a progressive society.

Angela Ida De Benedictis is Curator and Research Associate at the Paul Sacher Foundation (Basel). She is a member of the Scientific Committee of the Luigi Nono Archive and Scientific Director of the Centro Studi Luciano Berio. Veniero Rizzardi is Professor at the State Conservatory of Padua and Adjunct Professor at the Ca’ Foscari University in Venice. He is cofounder of the Luigi Nono Archive in Venice and also a curator of a new music series at the University of Padua. Both De Benedictis and Rizzardi have edited critical editions of music by Luigi Nono.