Bruckner (Paperback)

Symphony No. 8 (Cambridge Music Handbooks)

By Benjamin M. Korstvedt, Julian Rushton (Editor)

Cambridge University Press, 9780521635370, 148pp.

Publication Date: March 30, 2000

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (3/30/2000)

List Price: 37.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Anton Bruckner's Eighth Symphony (1890), one of the last of the great Romantic symphonies, is a grandly complex masterpiece. This book explores this many-faceted work from several angles. It documents the complicated and often misunderstood history of the symphony's composition and revision and provides an accessible guide to its musical design. It demonstrates, by means of a study of well-known recordings, how performance styles have evolved in this century. It also revisits the conventional wisdom about the various versions and editions of the symphony and comes to some provocative new conclusions.