Skip to main content
Cover for Here Comes Valentine Cat

Here Comes Valentine Cat

Deborah Underwood, Claudia Rueda (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The New York Times bestselling Cat is back just in time for Valentine’s Day—but he’s not interested in giving a valentine to any old dog. Full of humor and heart, this picture book is perfect for fans of Pete the Cat, Bad Kitty, Mo Willems’s Elephant and Piggie books, and of course, Cat’s two previous capers, Here Comes the Easter Cat and Here Comes Santa Cat.
 
Cat does NOT like Valentine's Day. It's much too mushy, and no way is he making anyone a valentine—especially not his new neighbor, Dog. Dog refuses to respect the fence: He keeps tossing over old bones and hitting Cat in the head! But just as Cat’s about to send Dog an angry "valentine" telling him exactly what he can do with his bones, Dog throws a ball over the fence. What is Dog playing at? Cat is in for a hilarious—and heartwarming—surprise in this story about being perhaps too quick to judge.

A great Valentine's Day gift for any age—read it on Valentine's Day and year-round!

"A charmer."The Washington Post
★ “Wickedly fun.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Endearing . . . beautifully pitched comic timing.”Kirkus 
“Fresh and satisfying . . . Empowers kids.”BCCB
“Simple but expressive . . . A favorite.” —SLJ


Praise For Here Comes Valentine Cat

"Cat's facial expressions perfectly mimic those of a toddler and are captured within a pleasing soft palette of ink and color pencil drawings. Wry humor and a twist ending make this book a charmer." —The Washington Post

 “Wickedly fun as ever—Underwood and Rueda clearly know how well sweet and salty go together.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Underwood's endearing, voiceless cat is back, this time getting a lesson in Valentine's Day tact. . . . Rueda masterfully uses white space and Cat's facial expressions and body language . . . for beautifully pitched comic timing. Cat hasn't lost his ability to charm readers, if for no other reason than children are so able to see themselves in him.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Fresh and satisfying . . . Empowers kids by positioning them as the narrative voice of reason. . . . Cat is a hoot at the height of his naughtiness, but also he’s poignantly repentant . . . Fans of Cat’s previous books (and even Valentine’s Day–phobes) are likely to fall in love with this series installment.” —BCCB

“Creatively presented . . . Humorous . . . The story’s singular narrative style and simple but expressive illustrations will make it a favorite . . . Pair it with Laura Malone Elliott’s A String of Hearts.”School Library Journal

Dial Books, 9780525429159

Publication Date: December 22, 2015



About the Author

Deborah Underwood is the author several picture books, including the New York Times bestseller The Quiet Book, Bad Bye, Good Bye, and Cat’s other adventures: Here Comes the Easter Cat, Here Comes Santa Cat, and the upcoming Here Comes the Tooth Fairy Cat. Deborah lives in San Francisco with her cat, Bella, who inspired Cat’s hijinks.
 
Claudia Rueda is the author/illustrator of several picture books, including Is It Big or Is It Little, Huff and Puff, My Little Polar Bear, and of course, Cat’s previous adventures.