Grace After Henry (Paperback)

By Eithne Shortall

G.P. Putnam's Sons, 9780525537861, 384pp.

Publication Date: March 12, 2019

List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A quirky love story set in Dublin that's perfect for fans of PS, I Love You and Jojo Moyes, Grace After Henry is a funny, heartfelt debut novel about one woman learning what it means to move on and to let go

When her fiancé, Henry Walsh, is killed in a freak biking accident, Grace feels like she's lost her own shadow. For five years, they'd been inseparable: five years of the most rollicking, soul-finding love Grace thought any two people could share. In his absence, Grace picks up the pieces of her life: She moves into the dream house they bought together, she returns to work as a chef, she watches TV with her nosy elderly neighbor, but through it all she's ever aware of the Henry-shaped hole in her life.

Until his long-lost twin brother knocks on her door.

Andy is Henry, and yet he's not quite. Newly arrived in Dublin on his own search for answers, he makes Grace's loss feel both greater and smaller. Soon Grace isn't sure if she's learning to let go or becoming desperate to hold on. Filled with a warm and zany cast of characters all searching for a sense of home, Grace After Henry is a funny, tender, and bittersweet story about love, loss, and second chances.


About the Author

Eithne Shortall is the arts correspondent for The Sunday Times Ireland and has worked as a TV and radio presenter in her native Ireland. Grace After Henry is her American debut novel.


Praise For Grace After Henry

"An engrossing, surprising, and empowering story about the complexities of love, grief, and family. The characters were so beautifully developed that by the time I finished reading, I felt like I'd known them forever." —Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost

“Is it possible for a novel about grief to be this enchanting? Shortall’s extraordinary debut is about the kind of shocking tragedy that shatters your life, about the ghosts  and people we cling to for solace, and about how, when we truly open our lives to loss, life actually becomes deeper, richer, and all the more precious. A gorgeously written, haunting reminder that nothing is ever really lost.” —Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World

“This book is a poignant and touching account of one woman moving on after great tragedy. Shortall’s American debut does not go for easy solutions but shows how grief manifests differently for those who experience it.” Booklist (starred review)

“Insightful…Shortall’s thought-provoking potentialities combined with her perceptive characterizations are certain to keep Grace and Andy in the reader’s mind for a long time.” —Publishers Weekly

A witty, heartbreaking, life-affirming, gorgeous charmer of a novel about love and loss and letting go.  I couldn’t put it down, and I can’t stop thinking about the characters, and I can’t wait to give copies to all the people I love.”—Nancy Thayer, bestselling author of A Nantucket Wedding

“Fans of Jojo Moyes and Cecelia Ahern will adore Grace After Henry, a story of life after loss that brims with a lovable cast of characters, humor, and lots of heart. I recommend you have tissues at the ready and a phone within reach to call your friends!  This emotionally rich, satisfying read is sure to put Eithne Shortall novels at the top of your TBR.” —Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Husband Hour

“Charming and heartfelt, Eithne Shortall’s Grace After Henry is the unconventional love story—complete with quirky characters and tissue-worthy moments—you won’t want to miss! A lovely, moving read.” —Karma Brown, bestselling author of The Life Lucy Knew

“A touching, beautifully written story about losing love and finding it again in an unexpected way. I couldn’t put it down—I was reading the book at two in the morning with a little flashlight, so I wouldn’t wake up my husband.”—Mary Simses, author of The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Café

“Brilliant. . . . A terrific read and superior plot!” —Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait