Her Daughter's Mother (Hardcover)

By Daniela Petrova

G.P. Putnam's Sons, 9780525539971, 320pp.

Publication Date: June 18, 2019

List Price: 26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

She befriended the one woman she was never supposed to meet. Now she's the key suspect in her disappearance. For fans of The Perfect Mother and The Wife Between Us comes a stunning psychological suspense debut about two strangers, one incredible connection, and the steep price of obsession.

Lana Stone has never considered herself a stalker--until the night she impulsively follows a familiar face through the streets of New York's Upper West Side. Her target is the "anonymous" egg donor she'd selected through an agency, the one who's making motherhood possible for her. Hungry to learn more about her, Lana plans only to watch her from a distance. But when circumstances bring them face-to-face, an unexpected friendship is born. In Katya, Lana finds a welcome distraction from her painful breakup with her baby's father, and someone whose zest for life is irresistible. Until, a week later, Katya goes missing--and Lana might have been the last person to see her before she disappeared. Determined to find out what became of the woman to whom she owes so much, Lana digs into Katya's past, even as the police grow suspicious of her motives. But she's unprepared for the secrets she unearths, or their power to change everything she thought she knew about those she loves best...


About the Author

Daniela Petrova is a recipient of an Artist Fellowship in Writing from the Massachusetts Cultural Council. Her short stories, poems and essays have been published in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Salon, and Marie Claire. Born and raised in Sofia, Bulgaria, Petrova currently lives in New York City.


Praise For Her Daughter's Mother

Her Daughter's Mother had me from the very first page. With a dazzling plot; complex, unforgettable characters; and gorgeous prose that mines the dangerous depths of obsession, Daniela Petrova's debut is undoubtedly going to be the book everyone will want to read this summer.”—Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Mother 

More Praise for Her Daughter's Mother

“Taut pacing, relatable characters, and a twisty, surprising plot combine in this tense and poignant thriller. Secrets and obsession leave their mark in this unputdownable story—a remarkable debut.”—Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls, The Perfect Stranger, and The Last House Guest

“Captivating and powerful, Her Daughter’s Mother is both a thought-provoking story about the ethical gray area one woman stumbles into on her quest for motherhood, and a twisty thriller about another woman’s abrupt disappearance. Secrets, obsession, lies, betrayals big and small—they’re all here in this expertly paced novel that will keep readers guessing right up until the very last page.”—Kathleen Barber, author of Are You Sleeping

“This moving, heartfelt thriller surprised me again and again. Lana’s journey to becoming a mother is poignant and suspenseful, even without the added element of her egg donor’s disappearance. The turns of this story ratchet up the intrigue, making Her Daughter’s Mother one of the most gripping books I’ve read in years…A sure-footed, memorable debut.”—Erica Wright, author of The Blue Kingfisher