The Lost Night (Hardcover)

A Novel

By Andrea Bartz

Crown, 9780525574712, 336pp.

Publication Date: March 5, 2019

List Price: 27.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

What really happened the night Edie died? Ten years later, her best friend Lindsay will learn just how unprepared she is for the truth.

In 2009, in a loft complex in Bushwick, Edie was the shining star of a group of recent college graduates. Seductive, mercurial and beguiling, she had the social world in her thrall, and she and her best friends treated New York like a playground. When she committed suicide at the end of a long, drunken night, no one could quite believe it. But an overwhelming mix of grief, shock, and long-standing resentment drove each friend into their own corner, and for years, that's where they stayed.

A decade later, Lindsay has come a long way from the drug-addled world of Calhoun Lofts. She has a thriving career in magazines as a chief researcher, a cozy apartment, and true adult friendships. But when a chance reunion leads Lindsay to discover an unsettling video from that terrible, hazy night, she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered--and, worse, if she herself was involved. As she rifles through those months in 2009--combing through case files, old technology, and her own fractured memory--Lindsay is forced to confront the demons of her violent history to bring the truth to light.


About the Author

ANDREA BARTZ is a Brooklyn-based journalist and coauthor of the blog-turned-book Stuff Hipsters Hate (Ulysses Press, 2010), which The New Yorker called "depressingly astute." Her work has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, Marie Claire, Vogue, Cosmopolitan, Women's Health, Martha Stewart Living, Redbook, Elle, and many other outlets, and she's held editorial positions at Glamour, Psychology Today, and Self, among other titles.


Praise For The Lost Night: A Novel

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR THE LOST NIGHT:

“Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you’ve ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again...oh my, this is your book.”—Caroline Kepnes, author of You and Providence

"A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory. Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins."—Jo Piazza, bestselling coauthor of The Knockoff

"Exciting, gripping, disquieting—The Lost Night is more than a thriller. It's a magnificent examination of the dark corners of our souls. Andrea Bartz has written this season's must-read novel."—Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder

"This suspenseful, twisty thriller is the perfect book if you’re in the midst of your invincible twenties, or if you’ve ever looked back on that ephemeral time in your life and thought, how in the world did I live to tell the tale?"—Camille Perri, author of The Assistants and When Katie Met Cassidy