The Lost Night (Hardcover)

A Novel

By Andrea Bartz

Crown, 9780525574712, 336pp.

Publication Date: February 26, 2019

List Price: 27.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“Tightly paced and skillfully plotted, The Lost Night is a remarkable debut.”—Jessica Knoll, New York Times bestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive 

What really happened the night Edie died? Years later, her best friend Lindsay will learn how unprepared she is for the truth.

 
In 2009, Edie had New York’s social world in her thrall. Mercurial and beguiling, she was the shining star of a group of recent graduates living in a Brooklyn loft and treating New York like their playground. When Edie’s body was found near a suicide note at the end of a long, drunken night, no one could believe it. Grief, shock, and resentment scattered the group and brought the era to an abrupt end.
 
A decade later, Lindsay has come a long way from the drug-addled world of Calhoun Lofts. She has devoted best friends, a cozy apartment, and a thriving career as a magazine’s head fact-checker. But when a chance reunion leads Lindsay to discover an unsettling video from that hazy night, she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered—and, worse, if she herself was involved. As she rifles through those months in 2009—combing through case files, old technology, and her fractured memories—Lindsay is forced to confront the demons of her own violent history to bring the truth to light.


About the Author

ANDREA BARTZ is a Brooklyn-based journalist and coauthor of the blog-turned-book Stuff Hipsters Hate (Ulysses Press, 2010), which The New Yorker called "depressingly astute." Her work has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, Marie Claire, Vogue, Cosmopolitan, Women's Health, Martha Stewart Living, Redbook, Elle, and many other outlets, and she's held editorial positions at Glamour, Psychology Today, and Self, among other titles.


Praise For The Lost Night: A Novel

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR THE LOST NIGHT:

“Tightly paced and skillfully plotted, The Lost Night is a remarkable debut.  Andrea Bartz captured a distinct period of time in a young woman’s life that intrigued me, surprised me, and left me flush with nostalgia. I want more from this talented new voice.” —Jessica Knoll, New York Times bestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive 

“Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you’ve ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again...oh my, this is your book.”—Caroline Kepnes, author of You and Providence

"A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory. Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins."—Jo Piazza, bestselling coauthor of The Knockoff

"Exciting, gripping, disquieting—The Lost Night is more than a thriller. It's a magnificent examination of the dark corners of our souls. Andrea Bartz has written this season's must-read novel."—Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder

“A riveting debut with, yes, an echo of The Girl on the Train."Booklist (starred)

“Accomplished…Fans of psychological thrillers will want to see more from this talented newcomer.”—Publishers Weekly

"This suspenseful, twisty thriller is the perfect book if you’re in the midst of your invincible twenties, or if you’ve ever looked back on that ephemeral time in your life and thought, how in the world did I live to tell the tale?"—Camille Perri, author of The Assistants and When Katie Met Cassidy 

"If The Girl on the Train had been a Brooklyn party kid, she’d feel right at home in The Lost Night: A juicy thriller wrapped up in a vivid nostalgia trip.”—Janelle Brown, bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear

“I loved this very cool thriller that puts you bang in the middle of New York’s hippest crowd. The damaged narrator will keep you second-guessing all the way. I read it in two days!"—CJ Tudor, author of The Chalk Man and The Hiding Place

"The Lost Night is a fun, smart mystery that kept me guessing until the end. Its protagonist Lindsay Bach, a sharp, creative, self-analytical millennial, is the sort of character we expect to find in literary novels where not much happens; encountering her here, in the context of a potential murder, is a pleasurable surprise."—Adelle Waldman, author of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P