Skip to main content

The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)

Jacqueline Davies


List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Prebound (3/4/2014)
Hardcover (1/8/2013)

Winter 2012 Kids Next List

“This is a terrific addition to Davies' beloved Lemonade War series. Davies understands and respects kids -- both as her characters and as her readers. Jessie and Evan are back, as are Megan and Scott, and with Valentine's Day approaching Mrs. Overton's 4th-grade class is bursting with cards, crushes, and mystery. Who is leaving forbidden boxes of candy hearts in everyone's desk? Just like Evan, readers will be inspired by Mrs. Overton's infectious love of poetry. This is a perfect book for middle readers!”
— Christopher Rose, Andover Bookstore, Andover, MA
View the List


Jessie and Evan Treski have waged a lemonade war, sought justice in a class trial, and even unmasked a bell thief. Now they are at opposite ends over the right to keep secrets. Evan believes some things (such as his poetry) are private. Jessie believes scandal makes good news. When anonymously sent candy hearts appear in Class 4-0, self-appointed ace reporter Jessie determines to get the scoop on class crushes.  

Praise For The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)

"Another rewarding chapter book from the Lemonade War series."

"A terrific tie-in to Valentine's Day, but a good anytime school story for boys and girls alike."
Read Kiddo Read

HMH Books for Young Readers, 9780544225008, 240pp.

Publication Date: March 4, 2014

About the Author

Jacqueline Davies is the talented writer of several novels and picture books, including The Lemonade War series and The Boy Who Drew Birds. Ms. Davies lives in Needham, Massachusetts, with her family.