This Raging Light (Hardcover)

By Estelle Laure

Houghton Mifflin, 9780544534292, 288pp.

Publication Date: December 22, 2015

Advertisement

Description

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to "take a break..".from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, "Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart."
Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love--messy, inconvenient love--is what she's about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend's brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure's soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

"A funny, poetic, big-hearted reminder that life can--and will--take us all by surprise."
--Jennifer E. Smith, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

"Lucille may not take down a beast or assassinate any super bads, but she's what heroines look like and love like in real life."
--Justine Magazine


Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

  1. What does it mean to be a teenager like Lucille, forced to take on adult responsibilities as she’s coming into her own?generic viagra price canada
  2. How do Lucille’s parents’ actions affect Lucille and Wren? Beyond the obvious negative effects, is there anything positive that comes from their circumstances?generic viagra price canada
  3. Lucille’s job at Fred’s is more than just a paycheck to Lucille. What does she gain from her experience at her job?generic viagra price canada
  4. At one point in the novel, Lucille asks the question: “Who is this boy I’ve known for most of always, and why is he everything?” Why is Digby so important to Lucille at this stage in her life?generic viagra price canada
  5. How does Wren cope in the absence of a mother in this story?generic viagra price canada
  6. How do you feel about Lucille’s actions in pursuing Digby in the novel? What was your response to Digby’s infidelity?generic viagra price canada
  7. How would you describe Lucille’s voice in the story? Did you find the first person present tense effective?generic viagra price canada
  8. Discuss the role of Lucille and Wren’s neighbors in the second half of the story. How did Lucille’s response to their actions differ from Wren’s?generic viagra price canada
  9. Eden doesn’t support Lucille’s crush on Digby. Why is that?generic viagra price canada
  10. Lucille is a victim of circumstances outside of her control. How does she take control of her destiny by the end of the novel?generic viagra price canada
Advertisement