With Malice (Hardcover)

By Eileen Cook

HMH Books for Young Readers, 9780544805095, 320pp.

Publication Date: June 7, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (6/6/2017)
Compact Disc (6/6/2017)
Compact Disc (6/7/2016)
MP3 CD (6/6/2017)
MP3 CD (6/7/2016)
Compact Disc (6/7/2016)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive psychological thriller about a teenage girl who cannot remember the last six weeks of her life.

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron's senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident...wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

 


About the Author

Eileen Cook is a multi-published author with her novels appearing in eight different languages. She spent most of her teen years wishing she were someone else or somewhere else, which is great training for a writer. Eileen lives in Vancouver with her two very naughty dogs and no longer wishes to be anyone or anywhere else.

www.eileencook.com.



Praise For With Malice

An Entertainment Weekly “Seriously Scary Summer Read”

"A creepy, satisfying thriller..."
–Entertainment Weekly

"This multimedia project is a perfect thriller to stow in your beach bag.”
–TeenVogue.com

"Prepare for lots of twists, right up until the very last chapter."
–Seventeen.com

“[A] page-turning psychological thriller.”
–Bustle.com

"For those who like a suspenseful and riveting novel.”
–Glitter Guide

“This book will have you turning pages as you try and decide what you believe and who you can trust.”
–Parade.com

* "Cinematic scene breaks and propulsive reveals will keep the pages furiously turning in this slow-burning but explosive thriller."
–Booklist, STARRED review

"[With Malice] is a page-turner, and the ending is unsettling—let the reader beware."
–VOYA

"A solid thriller that will leave readers guessing until the very last page."
–School Library Journal

"Cook believably portrays the struggles of girl who had it all and is left to pick up the pieces of a life she isn’t sure is hers."
–Publishers Weekly

"The hoopla surrounding the accident is played well, reminiscent of the real-life Amanda Knox trial. Jill's past-tense narration is complemented by Justice for Simone blog posts, police transcripts, text messages, email, Facebook comments, and Crime Watch episodes, through which details of their frenemy-ship and what might've happened emerge."
–Kirkus

"The story is twisty, well-written, and so powerful that I felt as though I was reading about a true crime. Is there anything more complex or vicious than a teen girl? Especially one with secrets."–Chevy Stevens NYT Bestselling author Still Missing and Those Girls

"Some books you read and forget immediately. Some you finish and want to start again immediately. This is one of the latter. Staggeringly smart, just enough sexy, and virtually seamless."–Terra Elan McVoy, author of Edgar Finalist, Criminal 


Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

Jill is an unreliable narrator. As a reader do you believe her story? Do you think she


believes what she says? How does she compare to other unreliable narrators such


as Amy in Gone Girl and Rachel in The Girl on the Train?


The story of With Malice combines chapters told from Jill’s point of view as well


as chapters from other characters, news stories and police reports. How did these


different viewpoints shape your opinion of what happened in the book?


Jill and Simone have been friends since elementary school and each of them have a


set role. Jill says that Simone is Batman, she’s Robin, Simone is Sherlock and she’s


Watson, etc. In your friendships does everyone have a role to play and if so, what


happens when that role changes?


Jill is very excited to go to Italy believing that the experience will change her life.


What is it about travel that changes people? Have you ever taken a trip that


impacted your life? If you could take a trip- where would you go?


Why does Simone want to go on the trip and how does her decision to go impact


Jill?


Jill worries that when she goes away to college she will lose her friendship with


Simone. Do you have anyone in your life that used to be a very close friend, who


you have grown apart from? Would you change that if you could? Do friendships


have a time limit?


Do you believe that Jill’s parents believe she is innocent? Why or why not?


Would you consider Jill and Simone to be friends? What role does envy play in


friendships? Have you ever had a friendship that wasn’t healthy- how did it resolve


itself?


Once the story of Simone’s death hits the press, many people in the public decide


that Jill is guilty. Do you think media coverage influences the justice system? How?


Do you find you have strong opinions on people in the news?


Anna tells Jill that even if she wasn’t tough before the experience of being in the


rehab hospital will make her tough. How do you think this experience changes Jill?


How did you feel about the character of Nico? He is only a couple of years older


than Jill, but he is a leader in the school program, do you think he took advantage of


her?


Do you believe Jill’s brain injury prevents her from remembering the accident, or is


it that she doesn’t want to face what really happened?


Jill was bothered by an online troll when she wrote her blog. Do you think online


bullying is better or worse than being bullied in person? Why? Have you ever had a


negative experience online? Have you ever said something you later regretted?


There are some who feel teens share too much online. Do you agree? Have you ever


shared something you later wished you hadn’t?


At the end of the book Jill discovers that Simone was her online troll and has either


or dream or memory where Simone tells her why she did it. Why do you think


Simone left those comments? Is there any justification for what Simone did- why or


why not?


Have you ever been betrayed by a friend? Or have you ever discovered something


about a friend that made you see them in a very different way?


Because of her brain injury, Jill is vulnerable to having false memories. Do you


believe at the end of the book that what she experiences is a dream or a memory? If


it is a memory- is Jill justified in deciding to say nothing?