The City of Death (Hardcover)

By Sarwat Chadda

Arthur A. Levine Books, 9780545385183, 336pp.

Publication Date: October 29, 2013

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (11/12/2013)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Rick Riordan!

"A fabulous, action-packed modern take on Indian mythology. I can't wait to read more!" -- Rick Riordan on The Savage Fortress

Meet Ash Mistry: eighth grader, pretty good video gamer, guy with a massive crush on the beautiful Gemma . . .

Oh, and the Eternal Warrior of the death goddess Kali.

Just when Ash has settled back into his everyday London life, his friend Parvati arrives with a mission: The evil Lord Savage is plotting to steal the Koh-I-Noor diamond. Ash and Parvati manage to intercept it, but at a terrible price-Gemma's death.

Outcast and heartbroken, Ash returns with Parvati to India, where he meets up with old friends and develops new powers. But he's haunted by Gemma and thoughts of revenge. As he hunts Savage all the way to a long-hidden kingdom, Ash must face the prospect that he may no longer be entirely human . . . and his warrior side may lie beyond his control.


About the Author

Sarwat Chadda is the author of the YA novels DEVIL'S KISS and DARK GODDESS. A former engineer, he is very glad to now be constructing stories and not ductwork systems. He lives in London, England, with his family. Visit him on the web at www.sarwatchadda.com and @sarwatchadda.


Praise For The City of Death

Praise for The City of Death

"The nonstop action in this exciting sequel to The Savage Fortress uses every bell and whistle of the suspense novelist's craft to satisfy readers--no middle-novel syndrome here. . . . The well-integrated background information, a doomed romance and lots of video game action will keep teens reading and panting for more." -- Kirkus Reviews

Praise for The Savage Fortress

"Nonstop action and likeable teen characters will attract fans of fantasy quests such as the Percy Jackson books and the saga of Nicolas Flamel."-- Kirkus Reviews

"Brilliantly done and definitely a highlight of my reading year so far."-- thebooksmugglers.com