Starring Jules #1 (Hardcover)

Starring Jules (as herself)

By Beth Ain

Scholastic Press, 9780545443524, 160pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 2013

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (2/25/2014)
MP3 CD (9/15/2015)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (5/1/2014)

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent!



Things to Know About Me

by Jules Bloom



1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person.

2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)

3. I am in between best friends right now.

4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!)



Jules doesn't want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she's willing to turn to anyone for help--even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up....


About the Author

A Pennsylvania girl at heart, Beth Ain fell in love with life in New York City, and she loves trying to capture the essence of family life there. Thankfully, she now has the benefits of both city and small town life, having settled in Port Washington, NY, where she lives very happily with her husband and their two kids.


Praise For Starring Jules #1: Starring Jules (as herself)

"Vivacious Jules Bloom, with her singular wardrobe and all-around flair for the dramatic, hopes to accomplish a great deal before she turns eight, including finding a new best friend, since she’s on the outs with her former bestie, Charlotte. When a casting director invites Jules to audition for a mouthwash commercial, Jules throws herself into preparing for the perfect audition. Setbacks arise—the flavor of the mouthwash, orange, is loathsome to Jules (“Orange anything reminds me of throw up, partly because I threw up in a taxicab after eating... orange sherbet”)—and Charlotte keeps interfering with Jules’s efforts to befriend Elinor, the new girl from London. Ain (The Revolution of Sabine) gives Jules a truly funny narrative voice; her personality, misunderstandings, and tendency to overthink things are the driving force behind the story, though Jules’s relationship with her parents and brother is also a standout. Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and other iconoclastic heroines will love getting to know Jules and look forward to the next book in this planned series." - Publishers Weekly starred review