Rules of Summer (Hardcover)

By Shaun Tan

Arthur A. Levine Books, 9780545639125, 48pp.

Publication Date: April 29, 2014

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Never be late for a parade.
Never forget the password.
Never ruin a perfect plan.
It's all about the rules. But what if the rules feel completely arbitrary? What if your older brother is the only one who gets to make them up all summer long? And what if he's the only one who can save you when the darkness of winter comes rushing in?
As usual, master artist and storyteller Shaun Tan shows us the strange truth of ordinary things -- rules, relationships, despair, and hope -- as only he can.

About the Author

Shaun Tan is the New York Times bestselling author of The Arrival, Tales from Outer Suburbia, Tales from the Inner City, Rules of Summer, and The Singing Bones. He received the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award in 2011 and won an Academy Award and for the adaptation of his picture book The Lost Thing (from Lost & Found: Three by Shaun Tan). Shaun lives in Melbourne, Australia.