Skip to main content
Cover for Moving Target

Moving Target

Christina Diaz Gonzalez

Paperback

List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (8/25/2015)

Description

In this exciting and action-packed adventure by an award-winning author, a young girl discovers her secret ancient bloodline. The fate of her family, and the world, may rest in her hands...

Cassie Arroyo, an American studying in Rome, has her world ripped apart when someone tries to kill her father, an art history professor at an Italian university. Is she their next target?Cassie sets out to uncover what is happening, only to learn that she is a member of an ancient bloodline that enables her to use the Spear of Destiny--a legendary object that can shape the future. Now running from a secret organization intent on killing those from her bloodline, Cassie must--with the help of some friends--decipher the clues that will lead her to the Spear. Her life--and the fate of the world--depends on it.Christina Diaz Gonzalez has created a fast-paced thrill-ride of a book, rich with riddles and myth, that young readers will not be able to put down.


Praise For Moving Target

Praise for Moving Target:"A grand adventure! The spunky heroine must decipher riddles, follow clues, and make life-or-death decisions. An exciting and entertaining adventure... that will keep readers engaged until the cliffhanger ending and leave them waiting for the next book." -- Kirkus Reviews"Gonzalez has created an action-packed mystery . . . A cliff-hanger ending will keep readers anxiously awaiting the next installment. Fans of Jude Watson's Loot and Chris Grabenstein's Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library will devour this series opener." -- School Library Journal"Moving Target is a story with so much of what I love: secret history, ancient relics, a breathtaking pace, and characters I can't help but root for." -- Matthew J. Kirby, Edgar Award-winning author of Icefall"Christina Diaz Gonzalez weaves a tight, twisty, heart-in-your-throat adventure that delivers thrill after thrill." -- Jude Watson, author of LootPraise for Return Fire, the sequel to Moving Target:"Readers will root for Cassie and stay with her to the nail-biting end." -- Kirkus ReviewsPraise for The Red Umbrella:A Top Ten Indie Next List Pick2011 Best Fiction for Young Adults"Gonzalez enters the literary scene with this exceptional historical novel." -- Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Moving Target:"A grand adventure! The spunky heroine must decipher riddles, follow clues, and make life-or-death decisions. An exciting and entertaining adventure... that will keep readers engaged until the cliffhanger ending and leave them waiting for the next book." -- Kirkus Reviews"Gonzalez has created an action-packed mystery . . . A cliff-hanger ending will keep readers anxiously awaiting the next installment. Fans of Jude Watson's Loot and Chris Grabenstein's Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library will devour this series opener." -- School Library Journal"Moving Target is a story with so much of what I love: secret history, ancient relics, a breathtaking pace, and characters I can't help but root for." -- Matthew J. Kirby, Edgar Award-winning author of Icefall"Christina Diaz Gonzalez weaves a tight, twisty, heart-in-your-throat adventure that delivers thrill after thrill." -- Jude Watson, author of LootPraise for Return Fire, the sequel to Moving Target:"Readers will root for Cassie and stay with her to the nail-biting end." -- Kirkus ReviewsPraise for The Red Umbrella:A Top Ten Indie Next List Pick2011 Best Fiction for Young Adults"Gonzalez enters the literary scene with this exceptional historical novel." -- Kirkus Reviews

Scholastic Press, 9780545773195, 256pp.

Publication Date: August 30, 2016



About the Author

Christina Diaz Gonzalez is the award-winning author of Moving Target, The Red Umbrella and A Thunderous Whisper. Her books have received numerous honors and recognitions including the Florida Book Award and the Nebraska Book Award. They have also been named the American Library Association's Best Fiction for Young Adults, a Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People, and the International Reading Association's Teachers' Choice. Learn more at christinagonzalez.com.