The Little Red Fort (Hardcover)

By Brenda Maier, Sonia Sanchez (Illustrator), Sonia Sánchez (Illustrator)

Scholastic Press, 9780545859196, 40pp.

Publication Date: March 27, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback, Spanish (6/26/2018)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A spunky, feminist adaptation of the timeless favorite, The Little Red Hen, sure to appeal to fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer.

bA Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year

* "iThe Little Red Hen/i gets an appealing girl-power update...Young makers of all genders will be inspired." --iThe Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books/i, starred review/b

Ruby's mind is always full of ideas.

One day, she finds some old boards and decides to build something. She invites her brothers to help, but they just laugh and tell her she doesn't know how to build.

"Then I'll learn," she says.

And she does!

When she creates a dazzling fort that they all want to play in, it is Ruby who has the last laugh.

With sprightly text and winsome pictures, this modern spin on the timeless favorite The Little Red Hen celebrates the pluck and ingenuity of young creators everywhere!


About the Author

Brenda Maier’s debut picture book, iThe Little Red Fort/i, was called "inspired" by the iBulletin of the Center for Children's Books/i in a starred review, and was named a Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year, a Bank Street College Best Children’s Book of the Year, and winner of One Book for Colorado. Brenda is a public school teacher and a gifted education specialist. When she isn't writing, Brenda enjoys traveling with her family, baking peanut-free cookies, and watching her five children build amazing creations from found materials. She lives near Tulsa, Oklahoma. You can learn more about her work at brendamaier.com.



Sonia Sánchez paints with both traditional and digital brushes, using layers of texture in her work to evoke emotion and movement. She is the illustrator of iThe Little Red Fort/i by Brenda Maier; iThe Wonderful Habits of Rabbits/i and iThe Curious Cares of Bears/i, both by Douglas Florian; and iSister Day!/i by Lisa Mantchev. Sonia lives with her husband and son and a sleepyhead cat in a blue house near the Mediterranean Sea on the eastern coast of Spain.


Praise For The Little Red Fort

bPraise for iThe Little Red Fort/i by Brenda Maier, illustrated by Sonia Sánchez:

A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year/b

* "The Little Red Hen gets an appealing girl-power update...Young makers of all genders will be inspired." -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

"Using a narrative framework and dialogue inspired by the Little Red Hen.... Maier judiciously adapts one of the best nursery stories, keeps it simple, and makes it her own. The upbeat mixed-media illustrations are nicely varied in composition and perspective. A lively picture book that's fun to read aloud." -- Booklist

"[Sánchez's] textured illustrations and sense of humor add depth to each dynamic scene. Throughout the story, Maier's little Latina go-getter breaks gender and cultural stereotypes....empowering...." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Maier's girl-power-meets-classic folktale story line is engaging and entertaining. Sánchez's colorfully patterned and textured illustrations give dimension to a determined and endearing pigtailed heroine and her realistic multigenerational, multi-skin-toned family." -- The Horn Book

"This delightful retelling of the old story of "The Little Red Hen" is perfect for storytime or one-on-one sharing. It also reminds girls that they can do whatever they set their minds to do." -- School Library Journal

"...exuberance on every page." -- Publishers Weekly

"The repetition of key words and the predictable narrative would make this book excellent for reading aloud....The warmly colored illustrations with pops of red are.... a fitting style for a book about one child's creativity and ingenuity." -- School Library Connection, recommended