The Baby (Hardcover)

By Lisa Drakeford

Chicken House, 9780545940276, 256pp.

Publication Date: October 25, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (1/10/2016)
MP3 CD (3/14/2017)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (11/1/2016)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

When Olivia opens the bathroom door, the last thing she expects to see is her best friend, Nicola, giving birth on the floor. And to say that Nicola is shocked is an understatement. She's not ready to be a mother, and she needs Olivia's help. But Olivia has her own problems--specifically her bullying boyfriend, Jonty, and having to keep an eye on her younger sister, Alice. And then there's Nicola's friend Ben, who's struggling with secrets of his own...The Baby explores one cataclysmic event from five sides to create a brilliant, engaging, bittersweet drama about friendship and family that's perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews and Jandy Nelson.


About the Author

Lisa Drakeford is a children's tutor. She used to be a library assistant and became inspired by the brilliant young adult novels filling the shelves. The Baby is her debut novel. She lives in England. You can follow her on Twitter at @LisaDrakeford.


Praise For The Baby

Praise for The Baby:

"The novel bursts with drama, love, and friendship." --The Guardian (UK)

Long-listed for the Branford Boase Award

Nominated for the Carnegie Medal