Skip to main content
Cover for Miss Muffet, Or What Came After

Miss Muffet, Or What Came After

Marilyn Singer, David Litchfield (Illustrator)


List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


People will tell you that all little Miss Muffet wanted was to sit quietly and eat her curds and whey. They’ll insist that she was so scared of a spider, she ran away from it, and that’s where her story ends. Well, those people are wrong! Miss Muffet is more daring than that—and so is the spider. Together, they head off on an escapade involving a host of other nursery rhyme characters to help a famous old monarch who’s lost his fiddlers three.
     Told in clever verse arranged like a musical theater production, this hilarious picture book reveals the true story of the adventures of Miss Muffet and her spider friend.  

Praise For Miss Muffet, Or What Came After

"There is the meat of the story, beautifully told in verse, as well as a musical narration by a trio of observers. In addition, there are stage notes in text boxes that set the scene and conversational text in speech bubbles. All of these elements come together on each page to create a narrative that brims with life... A richly complex fractured fairly tale well suited for classroom sharing, performance, or readers’ theater." —School Library Journal   "Serious fun whether read or performed." —Kirkus

Clarion Books, 9780547905662, 40pp.

Publication Date: September 6, 2016

About the Author

Marilyn Singer is the author of more than one hundred books for children, including the Tallulah books. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, and Washington, Connecticut. Visit her online at

David Litchfield is the creator of the award-winning The Bear and the Piano and its companion, The Bear, the Piano, the Dog, and the Fiddle. He is also the illustrator of Miss Muffet, Or what Came After by Marilyn Singer and many other picture books. He lives with his family in Bedfordshire in the United Kingdom., Twitter: @dc_litchfield, Instagram: @david_c_litchfield.