The Sun Is Also a Star (Hardcover)

By Nicola Yoon

Delacorte Press, 9780553496680, 384pp.

Publication Date: November 1, 2016

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Yara Shahidi and Charles Melton! The #1 New York Times bestseller and National Book Award Finalist from the bestselling author of Everything, Everything will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other.

Natasha:
I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? 

***

The #1 New York Times Bestseller 
A National Book Award Finalist
A 2017 Michael L. Printz Honor Book
A New York Times Notable Book
A BuzzFeed Best YA Book of the Year
A POPSUGAR Best Book of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A Booklist Editor's Choice
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens
Recipient of the John Steptoe New Talent Award
A Walter Award Honor Book

"Beautifully crafted."--People Magazine

"A book that is very much about the many factors that affect falling in love, as much as it is about the very act itself . . . fans of Yoon’s first novel, Everything Everything, will find much to love—if not, more—in what is easily an even stronger follow up." —Entertainment Weekly

"Transcends the limits of YA as a human story about falling in love and seeking out our futures." —POPSUGAR.com







About the Author

NICOLA YOON is the author of the #1 New York Times bestsellers The Sun Is Also a Star and Everything, Everything, her debut novel, which was turned into a major motion picture. She grew up in Jamaica and Brooklyn and lives in Los Angeles with her family. She’s also a hopeless romantic who firmly believes that you can fall in love in an instant and that it can last forever.

Follow @NicolaYoon on Tumblr, Twitter, and Instagram.





Praise For The Sun Is Also a Star

★ "An exhilarating, hopeful novel exploring identity, family, the love of science and the science of love, dark matter and interconnectedness--is about seeing and being seen and the possibility of love... and it shines." Shelf Awareness, starred review 
 
★ “Moving and suspenseful.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review 

★ “Lyrical and sweeping, full of hope, heartbreak, fate. . . and the universal beating of the human heart." —Booklist, starred review

★ "Fresh and compelling." —The Horn Book, starred review

★ "With appeal to cynics and romantics alike, this profound exploration of life and love tempers harsh realities with the beauty of hope in a way that is both deeply moving and satisfying."—Kirkus, starred review

★ “A love story that is smart without being cynical, heartwarming without being cloying, and schmaltzy in all the best ways.”—The Bulletin, starred review

"This wistful love story will be adored by fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park."—SLJ


Praise for Everything, Everything:

“[A] fresh, moving debut.” —Entertainment Weekly

Gorgeous and lyrical.” —The New York Times Book Review

Will give you butterflies.” —Seventeen

 “A do-not-miss for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell (aka everyone).” —Justine

 “YA book lovers, your newest obsession is here.”—MTV.com