My Unscripted Life (Hardcover)

By Lauren Morrill

Delacorte Press, 9780553498011, 288pp.

Publication Date: October 11, 2016

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Attention summer love story readers! This funny and sweet contemporary romance about a Southern girl ready for a ho-hum summer until she meets the boy of her dreams who happens to be an international pop star is perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Morgan Matson.

Sometimes love stories go off script.
 
Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she’d gone away, she wouldn’t have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.
 
It’s not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo—she’s just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there’s a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there’s more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never. . . .


About the Author

Lauren Morrill is the author of MEANT TO BE, BEING SLOANE JACOBS, THE TROUBLE WITH DESTINY, and MY UNSCRIPTED LIFE. She grew up in Maryville, Tennessee, where she was a short-term Girl Scout, a (not-so) proud member of the marching band, and a troublemaking editor for the school newspaper. She lives in Macon, Georgia, with her family, and when she’s not writing, she spends a lot of hours on the track getting knocked around playing roller derby.
 
laurenmorrill.com
Follow @LaurenEMorrill on Twitter and @laurenmorrill on Instagram.


Praise For My Unscripted Life

"Reminiscent of the author's earlier works, this contemporary romance has likable characters and lively dialogue that will appeal to fans of the genre. . . . In a nice touch, some of the chapters are framed by small snippets of Dee's "unscripted life," including stage directions and the movie analogy throughout. And while the romance is at the forefront, Dee's process of self-discovery adds a layer of depth to the plot and will ring true with teens trying to figure out who they are postrejection and where they are going after high school. VERDICT An additional purchase for larger collections where romance and a "behind-the scenes" look at movie-making are of interest. Similar in style and plot to Jennifer E. Smith's This Is What Happy Looks Like." --School Library Journal


Praise for Lauren Morrill:

 
“Star-crossed characters, hilarious dialogue, and a perfect London setting. I loved Meant to Be!” —Robin Benway, author of Emmy & Oliver, on Meant to Be

“Full of twists and romance.” —Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door, on Being Sloane Jacobs
 
“I absolutely loved this book. I never wanted this journey to end!” —Morgan Matson, author of Since You’ve Been Gone, on The Trouble with Destiny