Beard in a Box (Hardcover)

By Bill Cotter

Knopf Books for Young Readers, 9780553508352, 40pp.

Publication Date: April 19, 2016

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

This hilarious father-son romp is perfect for fans of Don’t Push the Button! and Mustache Baby! 

A young boy longs for a beard like Dad’s, and when he discovers a hair-growth product called Beard in a Box, he must have it! He rips open the package, plants the beard seeds, and waits . . .

And waits . . .

And waits.

Hilarious art and a feel-good ending make this the perfect Father’s Day gift for bearded and clean-shaven readers alike!

"From the boy's imaginings of what his beard will look like (and each beard's accompanying attribute) to the hysterical vignettes showing him waiting for the mail, exercising his face, and expressing his frustration, the facial expressions are spot-on. Yes, dads are awesome, and if you hang out with them, they'll teach you to be awesome too." —Kirkus, starred review


About the Author

Bill Cotter was a pre-K art and music teacher for several years in New York City before making books for kids. He now lives in his hometown of Cleveland and spends his days drawing, playing music, and daydreaming.


Praise For Beard in a Box

"From the boy's imaginings of what his beard will look like (and each beard's accompanying attribute) to the hysterical vignettes showing him waiting for the mail, exercising his face, and expressing his frustration, the facial expressions are spot-on. Yes, dads are awesome, and if you hang out with them, they'll teach you to be awesome too." —Kirkus Reviews starred review

"Cotter pokes fun at the appeal of too-good-to-be-true products (“Who would have thought SCAM-O would be a dishonest company?” the boy rages), but an earnest message about quality one-on-one time can be found under the shaggy depths of Cotter’s beard-based humor." —PW

"Prepare to laugh out loud when you read Beard in a Box... Hilarious." —Parents Magazine