Skip to main content


Lily and Dunkin

Donna Gephart

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (5/2/2016)
Paperback (5/1/2018)
Library Binding (5/3/2016)
Prebound (5/1/2018)
CD-Audio (5/3/2016)

Description

NAMED  ONE OF THE BEST KIDS BOOKS OF THE YEAR by NPR  • New York Public Library • JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION • GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS

Celebrate Pride every day with this award-winning author's compelling story about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful journey, perfect for fans of Wonder, will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
 
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.


Praise For Lily and Dunkin

One of YALSA's Best Fiction for Young Adults
One of YALSA's Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
One of ALA's Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
Rainbow Awards Winner of Best Transgender Book 
An Indie Next Pick


"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion." —Kirkus

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention." —Booklist, starred review

“Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.” —PW

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole... This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages." —VOYA
 
"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

Delacorte Press, 9780553536744, 352pp.

Publication Date: May 3, 2016



About the Author

Donna Gephart’s award-winning novels are packed with humor and heart. They include Death by Toilet Paper; Olivia Bean, Trivia Queen; How to Survive Middle-School; and As if Being 12-3/4 Isn’t Bad Enough, My Mother Is Running for President! Donna is a popular speaker at schools, conferences, and book festivals. For reading guides, resources, writing tips, and more, visit donnagephart.com.


Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

A transgender person is someone who does not identify with the biological gender assigned to him or


her at birth. Lily, born Tim, associates as a female and wants to start the hormone therapy that will allow


her to begin the physical transition to become a girl. When did Lily begin to think of herself as a girl?


Why is it best that she begin the hormone therapy now? Her mother and sister are very supportive, but


her father is not. Discuss why her father is resistant. How is Lily’s father finally convinced to support her


decision?


Throughout the book, members of Lily’s family and her close friend tell her how brave she is. How does


Lily exhibit this bravery when she stands up to the city in an attempt to save the tree she has named


Bob? Why is the tree especially important to her as she takes bigger steps toward becoming Lily? What


is her ultimate act of bravery?


Norbert suffers from bipolar disorder, a mood disorder that causes extreme lows and extreme highs.


The proper medication can control his mood swings. Why does he think stopping the medication will


help him on the basketball court? Why does his mother suspect that he isn’t taking his medication?


Who is Phin? Why is Norbert’s mother so concerned when he talks to Phin?


Lily is one of the first people Norbert meets when he moves to Florida. Why does Lily nickname Norbert


“Dunkin”? Why is Lily so disappointed when Dunkin wants to sit with the basketball team at lunch?


Cite evidence that Dunkin is uncomfortable when the basketball players call Lily names like “fag” or


bully her in the hallways.


Both characters are bullied because they don’t fit in with their classmates. Why are they hesitant to report


the bullying to school officials? How might schools intervene to help students like Lily and Dunkin?


Discuss the enormous courage it takes for Lily and Dunkin to share their secrets.


How does their acceptance of one another affect the way they act throughout the


rest of the novel? It won’t be an easy road for either of them. What are some of


the obstacles they are likely to face in the future?


How is this book about tolerance and understanding?