Riding Shotgun (Paperback)

By Rita Mae Brown

Bantam Books, 9780553763539, 356pp.

Publication Date: May 1, 1997



The author of "Venus Envy" takes you on a riotous ride back to one woman's future...
In a delightful contemporary farce with a riotous twist, Rita Mae Brown welcomes you to Virginia's horse country, where a fox hunt is about to lead a 1990s woman, Cig Blackwood, into a 1690s adventure of the heart. Infidelity, single motherhood, family betrayal, and the thrill of the hunt (in many varieties) are hilariously and poignantly played out in this captivating novel of time travel and self-discovery.

"From the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Rita Mae Brownis the bestselling author of the Sneaky Pie Brown series; the Sister Jane series;"A Nose for Justice"and"Murder Unleashed; Rubyfruit Jungle; In Her Day;"and"Six of One, "as well as several other novels. An Emmy-nominated screenwriter and a poet, Brown lives in Afton, Virginia."

Praise For Riding Shotgun

"It's a search for Mr. Right and the meaning of life that moves back and forth across time periods deftly as a minuet, with each century yielding up truths about the other."
--St. Louis Post-Dispatch

"Giddily enjoyable...with its feisty heroine, vivid period detail and well-turned plot twists, this novel is charming."
--Publishers Weekly

"The pace is fast and full of life....a whopping good read and a heckuva ride."
--Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Laugh-out-loud lines...dead-on ridicule of modern-day bad behavior." --Kirkus Reviews

From the Paperback edition.