Skip to main content

Ariel (Faber Poetry)

Sylvia Plath


List Price: 15.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (3/6/2018)
Paperback (5/1/2011)
Paperback (4/2/2015)
Hardcover (5/6/2010)
Paperback (5/8/2001)
Paperback (6/1/2009)
Hardcover (3/13/2006)


The poems in Sylvia Plath's Ariel, including many of her best-known such as Lady Lazarus, Daddy, Edge and Paralytic, were all written between the publication in 1960 of Plath's first book, The Colossus, and her death in 1963. "If the poems are despairing, vengeful and destructive, they are at the same time tender, open to things, and also unusually clever, sardonic, hardminded . . . They are works of great artistic purity and, despite all the nihilism, great generosity . . . the book is a major literary event." A. Alvarez in the Observer This beautifully designed edition forms part of a series of ten titles celebrating Faber's publishing over the decades.

Faber & Faber, 9780571351169, 96pp.

Publication Date: September 24, 2019

About the Author

Sylvia Plath (1932-1963) was born in Boston, Massachusetts, and studied at Smith College. In 1955 she went to Cambridge University on a Fulbright scholarship, where she met and later married Ted Hughes. She published one collection of poems in her lifetime, The Colossus (1960), and a novel, The Bell Jar (1963); Ariel was published posthumously in 1965. Her Collected Poems (1981), which contains poetry written from 1956 until her death, was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for poetry.