Skip to main content
Cover for Who Rescued Who

Who Rescued Who

Victoria Schade

Paperback

List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (3/23/2020)
Mass Market (12/29/2020)
Library Binding, Large Print (2/10/2021)

Description

Where can you turn when the world turns against you? When Elizabeth Barnes’ life fell apart she never imagined that she’d be rescued by a new friend on four paws.

The plan was simple: Elizabeth would ignore the fact that she was unjustly fired from her dream job, fly across the pond to settle an unexpected inheritance in her father’s home country and quickly return to reclaim her position among the Silicon Valley elite.

But when Elizabeth stumbles upon an abandoned puppy, she’s shocked to realize that her brief trip to England might turn into an extended stay. Her strict itinerary is upended completely by the pup’s dogged devotion, and soon the loveable puppy helps her to connect with a tight-knit community of new friends on two legs and four, from the aunt and uncle she didn't know existed, to a grumpy coffee shop owner to two very opinionated sheep. Along the way Elizabeth is confronted by long-kept family secrets, hard truths about her former life and a new romance that might lead her to question everything she knows about love. Because sometimes rescue magic happens on both ends of the leash.


Praise For Who Rescued Who

“Move over Marley and Enzo—there’s a new dog in town! Fans of John Grogan and Garth Stein will delight in Victoria Schade’s heartwarming new novel, Who Rescued Who. With crackling, whip smart dialogue and a touching story of redemption, Schade illustrates what it means to be rescued from our worst selves, and transformed into our best. Chock full of heart and humor, anyone who has ever been redeemed by the love of a dog will treasure this uplifting, big-hearted novel. A treat from start to finish!”
—Lori Nelson Spielman, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Crossed Sisters of Tuscany

“Victoria Schade is that author who could write anything and I’d read it. Who Rescued Who is the perfect feel-good book with charismatic characters, swoony romance, family secrets, and snuggly puppies. Grab your furry friend and start reading now.”
—Amy E. Reichert, author of The Kindred Spirits Supper Club

"Pet lovers will rejoice over this too-cute "tail" about Elizabeth Barnes, who travels to her late father's family homestead in the English countryside."
Woman's World

“A delightful romp through the English countryside…resplendent with sheep, dogs, cats, and lovely people. Beyond her irresistible story, Schade writes with beautiful descriptions. Readers will laugh, cry, and love this charmer.”
Booklist (starred review)

 “You don’t have to be a dog person to love this heartfelt book, but you will be by the time you finish it. Victoria Schade has written a timely, heartwarming story for everyone who longs to break free of the rose-colored filter of our Instagram age and redis­cover the messy perfection of life, love, and the people—and pets—who shape us.”
—Lyssa Kay Adams, author of The Bromance Book Club

“I loved it so, so much. It made me cry, but mostly it made me want to throw away my phone, buy some sheep and move to the English countryside to rescue dogs and live in a rom-com.”
—Teri Wilson, Author of The Accidental Beauty Queen 

“A charming, fish-out-of-water story about finding your heart and home in the place you least expect. After reading this book, I wanted to adopt a puppy and relocate to rural England. I absolutely adored it.”
—Sarah Smith, Author of Faker

“As satisfying as a basket of fresh scones and as heartwarming as puppy kisses, I didn't want this book to end.”
—Lindsay Emory, author of The Royal Runaway

"Once again, Schade comes at us with her trademark smarts and humor (or should I say, humour?) to deliver a story with everything to love. The prospect of a great British romance isn't even the sweetest part of Who Rescued Who?—it's the tender way the author uses her long career as a professional trainer to help us all understand our pets, and our bonds with them, as no one else can. A winner."
—Kristine Gasbarre, #1 New York Times bestselling writer and author of How to Love an American Man: A True Story

"The engrossing, evocative prose whisked me away to an utterly charming British chocolate box village, where I would have loved to stay. Who Rescued Who is certainly a special treat for dog lovers, but also for anyone who enjoys a multi-layered story about finally finding a family in every sense."
—Evie Dunmore, Author of Bringing Down the Duke

“A perfect romance—charming characters, amazing chemistry, and a rescue dog that steals your heart!”
—Jennifer ProbstNew York Times bestselling author of Our Italian Summer, on Lost, Found, and Forever

"Like the proverbial dog with a bone, I devoured this book in almost one go. It's the adorable tale of a movie star dog at the heart of a rescue doggie custody battle...which is actually a love match rescue. Pure delight!"
—Julia LondonNew York Times bestselling author of You Lucky Dog, on Lost, Found, and Forever

“The most charming love triangle of the season. It’s a good thing one of them has dog sense. I especially loved the inside peek at movie-making with the cutest canine ever. Spencer will steal your heart.”
—Shelley NobleNew York Times bestselling author of Imagine Summer, on Lost, Found, and Forever

"Victoria Schade continues to dazzle with Lost, Found, and Forever. Fetch this adorable book for lighthearted romance and one of the best doggos, Spencer."
—Tif MarceloUSA Today Bestselling Author of The Key to Happily Ever After 

“For everyone who has loved a dog—or a human—this warm and fetching story is an absolute delight. With a charming and intimate small-town setting alongside Hollywood glamour, a winning romance, and one precocious pup, all wrapped up in a bighearted tale of a woman’s journey toward passion and purpose, Lost, Found, and Forever is a real treat.”
—Phoebe Fox, author of A Little Bit of Grace

"Charming and heartfelt, Life on the Leash will delight readers. The perfect book for dog lovers!"
—Chanel CleetonNew York Times bestselling author of The Last Train to Key West

"Even cat lovers will get wrapped up in this delightful story of girl, girl's best friend, girl's best girlfriends and a couple of guys. Cora's canines in training will steal your heart. I couldn't wait to see what happened next!"
—Shelley NobleNew York Times bestselling author of Lighthouse Beach, on Life on the Leash

"Life on the Leash is the novel you've been waiting for all year--a strong, funny, big-hearted heroine to cheer for in life and in love, plenty of 'I've-been-there' dating moments, and adorable, endearing, sometimes mischievous dogs to love on every page."
—Nicolle Wallace, dog lover, author and MSNBC host

"A bighearted and witty debut from a writer with remarkable insight into the minds of dogs and those who love them. The winsome cast of characters will have you hooked on Life on the Leash from the first page."
—Meg DonohueUSA Today bestselling author of Dog Crazy

Berkley, 9780593098837, 352pp.

Publication Date: March 24, 2020



About the Author

Victoria Schade is a dog trainer and speaker who serves as a dog resource for the media, and has worked both in front of and behind the camera on Animal Planet, as a co-host on the program Faithful Friends and as a trainer and wrangler on the channel’s popular Puppy Bowl specials. She lives in Pennsylvania with her husband, her dogs Millie and Olive, and the occasional foster pup.