Skip to main content


Skywatchers (Digital Audiobook)

By Carrie Arcos, Adenrele Ojo (Narrator)

Publication Date: August 17, 2020

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (8/18/2020)

Description

From National Book Award Finalist Carrie Arcos comes a thrilling, genre-bending mystery about the history of the Cold War and the UFO phenomenon. Perfect for fans of In the Woods by Tana French and Netflix's Stranger Things.

The year is 1952. The threat of invasion from the Soviet Union has people in a panic. The government has issued a call to civilians to act as radar--and Teddy, John, Caroline, Eleanor, Bunny, Frank, and Oscar eagerly answer. As members of their high school's "Operation Skywatch" club, they, along with others across the country, look to the sky in an effort to protect the country from attack.

But they're not prepared for the strange green light they see when on duty, which looks like nothing they've been trained to look out for. So when the mysterious object lands in the forest, Teddy, John, Caroline, and Bunny go in to investigate. Then, they disappear.

In this thrill of a novel inspired by real events, one group of teens will come face to face with the UFO phenomenon and the vastness of the unknown as they try to save one another, and possibly, the world. A powerful exploration of what if.

Praise for Skywatchers:

"An expertly crafted genre mash-up of sci-fi, historical fiction, and mystery, with a dash of thriller that will keep readers racing towards the end. A unique and original tale that will appeal to a wide variety of teens. A must-have for all teen collections." --School Library Journal

"Arcos has crafted an excellent mystery, with a hook in the compelling cast and just enough hints to keep readers guessing." --Booklist

"The historical time period, astute character development, and suspense-filled writing will draw readers in." --Kirkus Reviews

"Many readers, especially science fiction fans, will be drawn into the story." -- School Library Connection


About the Author

Carrie Arcos (www.carriearcos.com) was born in Albany, New York, and still mourns the day her family left for the West Coast. She earned an MA in creative writing and English literature and writes young adult fiction. She has taught English--both high school level and college. She is also the author of National Book Award finalist Out of Reach; We Are All That's Left; Crazy Messy Beautiful; and There Will Come a Time. Carrie lives in Los Angeles with her husband and three children. Follow her on Twitter @carriearcos.