Skip to main content
Cover for Scaredy Squirrel in a Nutshell (Scaredy's Nutty Adventures #1)

Scaredy Squirrel in a Nutshell (Scaredy's Nutty Adventures #1)

Melanie Watt

Library Binding

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (6/15/2021)

Description

The time is now for this anxious little guy: Meet Scaredy Squirrel in his brand-new graphic novel series! He's funnier (and scared-ier) than ever, and perfect for readers of Narwhal and Jelly.

Scaredy is happy to stay in his nut tree. Why would he ever leave? The outside is filled with dangers. Like aliens! And dust! And a certain fluffy bunny who likes to pop up! But things don't always go as planned, even for a super-prepared squirrel. When he has to venture out of his tree and onto the ground, Scaredy panics and plays dead . . . but maybe the fluffy bunny's not so scary after all?

In a nutshell, Scaredy might just make a new friend, if he is brave enough. . . .


Praise For Scaredy Squirrel in a Nutshell (Scaredy's Nutty Adventures #1)

Praise for Scaredy Squirrel in a Nutshell:
"The simple story is enlivened by bold, expressive artwork and stylistic embellishments; Scaredy, an overthinker top to tail, is especially fond of lists and charts… In a nutshell: short and sweet.” —Kirkus Reviews

Previous praise for Scaredy Squirrel:
“Youngsters will go nuts over this one.” —Publishers Weekly, on Scaredy Squirrel
 
“The sweet silliness with which Scaredy approaches his fear will make them laugh.” —Kirkus Reviews, on Scaredy Squirrel at Night
 
“The humor is silly enough that kids with their own scaredy tendencies won't feel preached at, and others will just appreciate the delicious ridiculousness.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, on Scaredy Squirrel Makes a Friend
 
“Fans will hope for much more from this endearing fellow.” —Publishers Weekly, on Scaredy Squirrel Makes a Friend

Random House Books for Young Readers, 9780593307564, 72pp.

Publication Date: June 15, 2021



About the Author

Author and illustrator Melanie Watt is the bestselling creative genius behind many beloved picture books for children, including the Scaredy Squirrel series, the Chester series, Bug in a Vacuum, You're Finally Here!, Have I Got a Book for You! and Augustine. Melanie's books have received numerous starred reviews from journals including Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews, and have won many state awards, including the Virginia Readers' Choice Award, North Carolina's Children's Book Award and Maryland's Black-Eyed Susan Award. The Scaredy Squirrel animated television series airs on the Cartoon Network in the US and YTV in Canada.