Skip to main content
Cover for A Seed in the Sun

A Seed in the Sun

Aida Salazar

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A young girl with big dreams meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for migrant workers' rights in this tender-hearted middle grade novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan.  

Lula Viramontes dreams of one day becoming someone whom no one can ignore: a daring ringleader in a Mexican traveling carpa, like the one she saw years ago while her family was working a harvest in Texas. But when the Teatro Campesino (the official theater company of the United Farm Workers) comes to their encampment in Delano, California, Lula meets activist Dolores Huerta and discovers an even more pressing reason to raise her voice: the upcoming farm workers' strike, an event that will determine her family's future—for better or worse. 

Dial Books, 9780593406601, 304pp.

Publication Date: October 25, 2022



About the Author

Aida Salazar​ is an award-winning author and arts activist whose writings for adults and children explore issues of identity and social justice. She is the author of the critically acclaimed middle grade verse novels The Moon Within and Land of the Cranes. Her forthcoming books include the picture book anthology In the Spirit of a Dream: 13 Stories of Immigrants of Color (fall 2021), the picture book biography Jovita Wore Pants: The Story of a Revolutionary Fighter (fall 2022), the middle grade novel A Seed in the Sun (2022), and the middle grade anthology The Gift: Writings on Menstruation by MG Authors of Color (2022). Aida is a founding member of LAS MUSAS—a Latinx kidlit debut author collective. Her story, "By the Light of the Moon," was adapted into a ballet production by the Sonoma Conservatory of Dance and is the first Xicana-themed ballet in history. She lives with her family of artists in a teal house in Oakland, CA.