Skip to main content
Cover for A Crooked Mark

A Crooked Mark

Linda Kao

Hardcover

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A dark and sinister debut YA novel about a teen boy who must hunt down those marked by the devil - including the girl he has fallen for.

Perfect for fans of Neal Shusterman and A.S. King.


Rae Winter should be dead.

Some say that walking away from the car crash that killed her dad is a miracle, but seventeen-year-old Matthew Watts knows that the forces of Good aren’t the only ones at work. The devil, Lucifer himself, can mark a soul about to pass on, sending them back to the land of the living to carry out his evil will.

Matt has grown up skipping from town to town alongside his father hunting anyone who has this mark. They have one purpose: Find these people, and exterminate them.

After helping his father for years, Matt takes on his own mission: Rae Winter, miracle survivor. But when Matt starts to fall for Rae, to make friends for the first time in his life, he’s not sure who or what to believe anymore. How can someone like Rae, someone who is thoughtful and smart and kind, be an agent of the devil? With the lines of reality and fantasy, myth and paranoia blurred, Matt confronts an awful truth....

What if the devil’s mark doesn’t exist?

Razorbill, 9780593527573, 368pp.

Publication Date: June 20, 2023



About the Author

Linda Kao grew up in California and spent most weekends throughout elementary school hauling books home from the library to read on the living room rug. After completing her degree at Stanford University, she taught elementary school for several years before earning a Ph.D. in Education from UCLA, where she discovered that writing fiction was far more fun than writing research papers. She continued to write between returning to teaching and raising children, and in 2014, she received the SCBWI Sue Alexander Award. She has published short stories and poems in Highlights for Children, Ladybug, Fun for Kidz, and Boys' Quest. Linda currently lives in Southern California with her family and enjoys running, reading, and attending her children’s sporting events.

You can find her on Twitter @lindalkao