Skip to main content
Cover for Luke Skywalker Can't Read

Luke Skywalker Can't Read

And Other Geeky Truths

Ryan Britt

Prebound

List Price: 28.20*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (11/23/2015)
Compact Disc (11/24/2015)
Paperback (11/24/2015)
MP3 CD (11/24/2015)
Compact Disc (11/24/2015)
Compact Disc (11/24/2015)
MP3 CD (11/24/2015)

Description

Ryan Britt is . . . the Virgil you want to guide you through the inferno of geekery. Lev Grossman, author of the bestselling Magician's trilogy
Pop Culture and sci-fi guru Ryan Britt has never met a monster, alien, wizard, or superhero that didn t need further analysis.
Essayist Ryan Britt got a sex education from dirty pictures of dinosaurs, made out with Jar-Jar Binks at midnight, and figured out how to kick depression with a "Doctor Who" Netflix-binge. Alternating between personal anecdote, hilarious insight, and smart analysis, "Luke Skywalker Can t Read" contends that "Barbarella" is good for you, that monster movies are just romantic comedies with commitment issues, that Dracula and Sherlock Holmes are total hipsters, and, most shockingly, shows how virtually everyone in the "Star Wars "universe is functionally illiterate.
Romp through time and space, from the circus sideshowsof 100 yearsago to the Comic Cons of today, from darkest corners of the Galaxy to the comfort of your couch. For anyone who pretended their flashlight was a lightsaber, stood in line for a movie at midnight, or dreamed they were abducted by aliens, "Luke Skywalker Can't Read" is full of answers to questions you haven't thought to ask, and perfect for readers of Chuck Klosterman, Rob Sheffield, and Ernest Cline.

Turtleback Books, 9780606378185, 224pp.

Publication Date: November 24, 2015



About the Author

Ryan Britthas written for"The New York Times, Electric Literature, The Awl, VICE Motherboard, Clarkesworld Magazine, "and is a consulting editor for "Story Magazine." He was the staff writer for the Hugo-Award winning web magazine"Tor.com," where he remains a contributor. He lives in New York City."