Skip to main content


Sweetbitter (Vintage Contemporaries)

Stephanie Danler

Prebound

List Price: 28.20*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (5/23/2016)
Paperback (4/4/2017)
Paperback, Large Print (4/4/2017)
Library Binding, Large Print (9/7/2016)
Hardcover (5/24/2016)
CD-Audio (5/24/2016)

Description

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter.
Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at the best restaurant in New York City. Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships and love set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights. As her appetites sharpen for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging Tess is drawn into adarkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all.
Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.

From the Hardcover edition.

Turtleback Books, 9780606400336, 368pp.

Publication Date: April 4, 2017



About the Author

STEPHANIE DANLER is a writer based in Brooklyn, New York. She holds an MFA in creative writing from the New School. From the Hardcover edition.