Outrun the Moon (Prebound)

By Stacey Lee

Turtleback Books, 9780606400978, 416pp.

Publication Date: May 2, 2017

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (5/2/2017)
Hardcover (5/24/2016)
Compact Disc (5/31/2016)
MP3 CD (5/31/2016)

List Price: 22.10*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.
Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty of Chinatown, San Francisco in 1906, and an education at St. Clare's School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare's is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong until disaster strikes.
On April 18, a historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy's home and school. Now she's forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Though fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, Mercy can t sit by while they wait for the army to bring help she still has the bossy cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenage girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?


About the Author

Stacey Lee is a fourth generation Californian with roots in San Francisco Chinatown. Born in Southern California, she graduated from UCLA then got her law degree at UC Davis King Hall. She has lots of experience with earthquakes, having skinned her knees more times than she wants to remember diving under tables. One day she hopes to own a hypoallergenic horse and live by the sea.Visit Stacey at www.staceyhlee.com.See what she s up to on Twitter: @staceyleeauthor."