The Far Field (Paperback)

A Novel of Ceylon

By Edie Meidav

Mariner Books, 9780618219162, 592pp.

Publication Date: May 10, 2002

List Price: 30.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In her debut novel, Edie Meidav tells the tale of Henry Fyre Gould, a self-described anti-missionary who travels to Ceylon from the spiritualist salons of 1930s New York City. Driven by an arrogant faith in his ideals, Henry settles in the village of Rajottama, intent on establishing a model society built on the lost truths of Buddhism. Instead of a utopian village, he slowly finds a tinderbox of caste struggle, political rebellion, espionage, and erotic intrigue. In the tradition of Michael Ondaatje, Barbara Kingsolver, and Joseph Conrad, Meidav grapples with the consequences of the West's fascination with the East and explores the nature of faith and love.


About the Author

EDIE MEIDAV was born in Toronto. She studied writing at Yale University and Mills College, taught fiction at the New School for Social Research in New York City, and has spent much of her life traveling and living in other countries. In 2000, Meidav was selected by the editors of the Voice Literary Supplement as one of their "Writers on the Verge."