The Best American Mystery Stories 2005 (Hardcover)

By Joyce Carol Oates (Editor), Otto Penzler (Editor), Joyce Carol Oates (Introduction by)

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH), 9780618517442, 324pp.

Publication Date: October 1, 2005



The Best American series has been the premier annual showcase for the country's finest short fiction and nonfiction since 1915. Each volume's series editor selects notable works from hundreds of periodicals. A special guest editor, a leading writer in the field, then chooses the very best twenty or so pieces to publish. This unique system has made the Best American series the most respected--and most popular--of its kind.

The Best American Mystery Stories 2005 includes

Scott Turow Edward P. Jones Louise Erdrich Dennis Lehane Daniel Handler Laura Lippman George V. Higgins David Means Richard Burgin Scott Wolven Stuart M. Kaminsky and others

Joyce Carol Oates, guest editor, is a highly respected novelist, critic, playwright, poet, and short story writer. She is the author of numerous books, including the National Book Award winner Them and most recently the novel The Falls.